The Brisbane Darts Masters starts on Friday in – you guessed it – Brisbane.

The World Series completes its tour Down Under this weekend. World number one Michael van Gerwen and world number two Peter Wright won in Auckland and Melbourne respectively. Any fans of patterns repeating themselves might fancy world number three Rob Cross to pick up the Brisbane Darts Masters crown.

First up to the Aussie oche is Michael Smith, who hasn’t enjoyed the best World Series form so far. Smith, who lost to Mark McGrath in Auckland, takes on namesake Raymond Smith. Raymond van Barneveld, fresh from his Great Barrier Reef adventure, is looking to make it to another final. He meets Gordon Mathers, who made his World Championship debut back in December.

Kyle Anderson lost in the first round to Damon Heta last time out. His mission now is to beat Barry Gardner and avoid successive shock exits. Wright, fresh off his Melbourne glory, plays 2018 Lakeside participant Justin Thompson.

Cross’ quest for a maiden World Series title starts against Australian hopeful Tim Pusey. That’s before Michael van Gerwen is required to show his cutting edge and give Mark Cleaver the chop.

There’s some déjà vu going on at the Brisbane Darts Masters. Simon Whitlock and Corey Cadby met in the first round last week in Melbourne. Cadby led, but Whitlock went on to win 6-4. Now the King has another chance to get the last part right.

In the final tie of the day, Gary Anderson meets up with Heta in a repeat of a quarter-final tie in Melbourne. Anderson won that 10-7, but there was more than enough evidence to suggest that the homegrown hero could cause some problems.

Click here for the full ITV schedule for the Brisbane Darts Masters.

Friday session schedule
Michael Smith v Raymond Smith
Raymond van Barneveld v Gordon Mathers
Kyle Anderson v Barry Gardner
Peter Wright v Justin Thompson
Rob Cross v Tim Pusey
Michael van Gerwen v Mark Cleaver
Simon Whitlock v Corey Cadby
Gary Anderson v Damon Heta


Author: Ed McCosh