The winners of the 2019 PDC Awards have been revealed with Michael van Gerwen claiming the Player of the Year for a fifth consecutive year on Thursday.

Van Gerwen claimed 14 titles including a fourth successive Premier League title and battled past a mid-season slump to claim the Champions League of Darts, World Series of Darts Finals, Melbourne Darts Masters and NZ Darts Masters.

He also won the ProTour player of the year award despite not playing often on the Players Championship circuit in 2019 but as usual, he played brilliantly in front of the crowds at the European Tour.

Peter Wright as expected was also among the honours; he claimed a hat-trick of awards including Televised Performance of the Year after a brilliant win over Michael van Gerwen in the World Championship Final.

‘Snakebite’ as ever was popular in the Fans’ vote claiming the Player of the Year in that category; as well as the PDPA Players’ Player of the Year.

The Best Newcomer award as expected went to Glen Durrant; whose brilliant first year on the PDC Tour saw him reach the semi-finals in three TV tournaments including the World Matchplay.

The three time Lakeside World Champion will now be involved in the Premier League as a result; as he aims to make even further strides.

Finally Luke Humphries was awarded the Young Player of the Year award; for becoming World Youth Champion for the first time and reaching the PDC World Championship Quarter-Finals for a second consecutive year.

He will get another chance in the Premier League in Exeter as a ‘Challenger’; as he aims to back up his promise.

There was also nine-dart pin badges handed out with Michael van Gerwen claiming a gold one; due to hitting one on TV at the Players Championship Finals.

Also there will be 46 silver pin badges handed out in what has been a record breaking year away from the cameras.


Author: Samuel Gill