In the release of tickets for the Grand Slam of Darts happening at the new venue of the Aldersley Leisure Village for the first time in November, the PDC have looked back on some of the greatest moments in the history of the tournament.

The first great moment of the Grand Slam of Darts comes from 2012 when Raymond van Barneveld claimed the title. He endured a drought before hand since 2007; coming runner up in the Grand Prix and World Matchplay. This means he wasn’t short of chances to win a title.

The Dutch Legend claimed the Grand Slam title though defeating Michael van Gerwen in the final 16-14. He then went on to claim the Premier League two years’ later meaning this title was a huge moment in his resurgence.

Best match ever?

Following that was one of the matches known as the best of all time by some darts fans. That was Phil Taylor vs Adrian Lewis from the 2013 tournament. Both players combined to hit averages of 109 and 110 as Taylor claimed a 16-9 win. Lewis hit 18 maximums in one of the highest scoring games of all time.

In addition, Martin Adams making his debut at the Wolves Civic in 2015 made the cut. This was a run that took the legend to the last 16 where he lost to Kim Huybrechts 10-9 in a brilliant match. ‘Wolfie’ had a smile etched onto his face for most of the tournament and turns boos into cheers as it went on.

Like many Grand Slam moments, they include Michael van Gerwen. This next one was no different. It was the 2015 tournament when he completed his set of major honours defeating Phil Taylor in the final to claim the one crown he was missing in his collection. He has not lost since winning finals against James Wade and Peter Wright respectively.

The BDO are of course involved in the tournament in the only cross code tournament on the calendar. Scott Waites is the only player ever to claim the title from the BDO and he did so in 2010. It was in stunning fashion as well with ‘Scotty 2 Hotty’ coming from 8-0 down to beat James Wade 16-12 to claim the title.

Three perfect legs:

Finally the tournament has produced perfection on three occasions since the inaugural edition in 2007. James Wade, Kim Huybrechts and Dave Chisnall are the three to do so. Can it be done this year with a change of venue?.



Author: Samuel Gill