Are we all caught up on the Brisbane Darts Masters? Good.

The Australian schedule wreaks havoc with English fans’ plans – especially when waiting for the ITV4 coverage. If you’re saving the drama for the evening’s TV, stay well clear of social media. Long before full footage shows up on British shores, we’ll know our Brisbane Darts Masters champion. One thing we know for sure is that we’ll have a new pair of finalists in this year’s World Series.

That’s all thanks to Kyle Anderson. Peter Wright, who’d made the final of the German Darts Masters (and won it), was dumped out by the Original in round one. Along with some spectacular early finishing, Anderson showed stoicism to fight back after what seemed to be a fatal slip midway through the tie. Simon Whitlock had it much easier. Brendon McCausland was absolutely no match for the Wizard. As Australia’s big two collide, anything is possible.

Giant-killing meets King-killing in the second tie. Gary Anderson was guilty of some serious regicide, pummeling Corey Cadby 6-1. He could play a fellow Anderson, Kyle, in the semi-finals. But first he’ll have to see off Damon Heta. If any DPA player was going to win in round one, it was going to be Heta. The Perth star stunned James Wade and would love to play Kyle Anderson, should his good mate beat Whitlock. He’d have to beat the man who notched up the biggest average on Friday.

Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

Photo: Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

The defence continues

Rob Cross was very close to being a first round casualty. The defending Brisbane Darts Masters champion was pushed to the limit by James Bailey. In the end, he came out on top, but Cross won’t be happy with how unconvincing the win was. A chance to put that right comes against Raymond van Barneveld, who was able to rattle off a string of legs to beat a misfiring Haupai Puha.

Michael van Gerwen pounded Ben Robb 6-0 and said afterwards: “I can’t really complain.” Well, quite. Mighty Mike’s next task is to take on Daryl Gurney. Superchin might be a little concerned by many missed doubles in a stuttering win against Koha Kokiri. But Day Two often brings an upsurge in form; both could do with it.

Play begins at 7pm, Brisbane time – so 10am in the UK. That means we should know the identity of our Brisbane Darts Masters champion at lunchtime.

Unless you’re holding out for the ITV4 show, of course. Mum’s the word.

Day Two Schedule

10:15 Kyle Anderson v Simon Whitlock
10:50 Damon Heta v Gary Anderson
11:30 Rob Cross v Raymond van Barneveld
12:15 Daryl Gurney v Michael van Gerwen

13:00 K Anderson/Whitlock v Heta/G Anderson
13:45 Cross/Van Barneveld v Gurney/Van Gerwen

Winner SF1 v Winner SF2
All best of 15 legs

Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

Photo: Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

Tags: , ,

Author: Ed McCosh