Recent winner of his 16th World Matchplay Crown, Phil Taylor will defend his Champions League of Darts title against a star studded field in Cardiff live on the BBC next month (September 16-17).
Taylor who will retire at the end of the year at the World Championships won last years event defeating World Number 1, Michael Van Gerwen twice in order to win the inaugural title.
Joining him and the world number one at the Motorpoint Arena, in Group A are back to back World Champion Adrian Lewis and five time world champion Raymond van Barneveld with the Dutch legend making his debut in the event after missing out last year.

In Group B, there is two time World Champion and a semi-finalist in last year’s event Gary Anderson who will do battle with world number three and recent UK Open Champion Peter Wright.
Also in Group B are two debutants in the form of Euro Tour winner and European Championship finalist, ‘The Gentle’ Mensur Suljovic who has qualified off the back of his surge up the rankings , and four time major-finalist and recent Pro Tour title winner Dave Chisnall with both men taking on the two Scotsman in the group stages.

All players will face off in their respective groups before the top two players from each group will progress to the semi-finals and final on Sunday with the winner receiving £100,000 for claiming the crown.
Unibet Champions League of Darts Field
1 Michael van Gerwen
2 Gary Anderson
3 Peter Wright
4 Phil Taylor
5 Adrian Lewis
6 Dave Chisnall
7 Mensur Suljovic
8 Raymond van Barneveld
Group A
Michael van Gerwen
Phil Taylor
Adrian Lewis
Raymond van Barneveld
Group B
Gary Anderson
Peter Wright
Dave Chisnall
Mensur Suljovic
The schedule of play will be announced in due course.
Prize Fund
Winner £100,000
Runner-Up £50,000
Semi-Finalists £25,000
Third In Group £15,000
Fourth In Group £10,000
Total £250,000

Tags: ,

Author: Samuel Gill