Jeffrey de Zwaan has beaten Rob Cross for the first time in his career. ‘The Black Cobra’ overcame the former world champion in the second round at the European Darts Grand Prix.

The Dutchman broke Cross’ throw in the eighth leg with a superb 11-darter to move 5-3 ahead. De Zwaan needed eleven match-darts in the ninth leg to beat the world number two. Cross won the first four meetings with the winner of two PDC ranking events, including last weekend at the Austrian Darts Open where De Zwaan missed three match-darts.
Darren Webster and Daryl Gurney both came through after leg-deciders. Gurney survived two match-darts against Chris Dobey, before hitting double 20 to move into the third round. Webster edged out Vincent van der Voort 6-5.
Click here to check out the PDC European Tour 2019 tournament centre.

Schedule – Saturday May 11
Second Round
Afternoon Session (12:00 GMT, 13:00 local time)

Michael Smith (97.52) 6-4 (101.85) Krzysztof Ratajski
Joe Cullen (90.81) 5-6 (93.09) Mark McGeeney
Jonny Clayton (88.95) 6-4 (88.01) Ross Smith
Mervyn King (100.19) 3-6 (102.19) James Richardson
Ricky Evans (94.16) 2-6 (95.5) Keegan Brown
Ian White (95.53) 6-5 (95.14) Dimitri Van den Bergh
Gerwyn Price (103.41) 6-1 (95.68) Gavin Carlin

Evening Session (18:00 GMT, 19:00 local time)

Rob Cross (89.25) 3-6 (90.24) Jeffrey de Zwaan
Darren Webster(90.86) 6-5 (91.21) Vincent van der Voort
Daryl Gurney (98.12) 6-5 (93.06) Chris Dobey
Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton
Adrian Lewis v Jamie Hughes
Max Hopp v Nathan Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan
Peter Wright v Niels Zonneveld


Author: Pieter