The draw for the 2019 European Darts Grand Prix has been made on Thursday. The event will kick off on Friday afternoon in Sindelfingen, marking the sixth event of the PDC European Tour 2019.

Former Lakeside champions Steve Beaton and Stephen Bunting will clash in the first round at the European Darts Grand Prix. Glen Durrant makes his third appearance on the European Tour and faces Ryan Searle. Mark McGeeney is set to make his debut on this circuit and meets Josh Payne.

Dutch prospect Jeffrey de Zwaan plays European Qualifier Stefan Bellmont and could face Rob Cross in the second round. De Zwaan and Cross met at the Austrian Darts Open last week, with ‘Voltage’ coming through after surviving three match-darts. The likes of Dimitri van den Bergh, Krzysztof Ratajski, Keegan Brown, Nathan Aspinall and Jamie Hughes will also appear on the stage on Friday during the first round at the European Darts Grand Prix.

Michael van Gerwen is the defending champion at this tournament. The world number one defeated James Wade in the final last year. Both players are among the seeds at the upcoming edition and will enter the European Darts Grand Prix in the second round. Mervyn King (2014), Kim Huybrechts (2015) and Peter Wright (2017) are the other winners of this European Tour event in the past.

Click here for more information about the PDC European Tour, including the format, calendar and the prize fund breakdown.

Michael van Gerwen will try to defend his title this weekend at the European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen.

Photo: Kelly Deckers/PDC Europe

European Darts Grand Prix 2019
Draw Bracket

(3) Ian White v Michael Rasztovits/Dimitri van den Bergh
(14) Ricky Evans v Daniel Klose/Keegan Brown
(6) Rob Cross v Stefan Bellmont/Jeffrey de Zwaan
(11) Michael Smith v Robert Owen/Krzysztof Ratajski
(7) Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton/Stephen Bunting
(10) James Wade v Ryan Searle/Glen Durrant
(2) Gerwyn Price v Dragutin Horvat/Gavin Carlin
(15) Darren Webster v Vincent van der Voort/Dave Prins
(4) Daryl Gurney v Chris Dobey/Madars Razma
(13) Max Hopp v Kim Viljanen/Nathan Aspinall
(5) Adrian Lewis v Ricardo Pietreczko/Jamie Hughes
(12) Joe Cullen v Mark McGeeney/Josh Payne
(8) Peter Wright v Niels Zonneveld/Michael Hurtz
(9) Jonny Clayton v Pero Ljubic/Ross Smith
(1) Michael van Gerwen v Brendan Dolan/Michael Rosenauer
(16) Mervyn King v Matthew Edgar/James Richardson

Schedule of Play
Friday May 10
First Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Pero Ljubic v Ross Smith
Matthew Edgar v James Richardson
Robert Owen v Krzysztof Ratajski
Niels Zonneveld v Michael Hurtz
Kim Viljanen v Nathan Aspinall
Mark McGeeney v Josh Payne
Brendan Dolan v Michael Rosenauer
Michael Rasztovits v Dimitri van den Bergh

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 GMT)

Vincent van der Voort v Dave Prins
Chris Dobey v Madars Razma
Dragutin Horvat v Gavin Carlin
Stefan Bellmont v Jeffrey de Zwaan
Daniel Klose v Keegan Brown
Steve Beaton v Stephen Bunting
Ricardo Pietreczko v Jamie Hughes
Ryan Searle v Glen Durrant

Saturday May 11
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Michael Smith v Owen/Ratajski
Joe Cullen v McGeeney/Payne
Jonny Clayton v Ljubic/R Smith
Mervyn King v Edgar/Richardson
Ricky Evans v Klose/Brown
Ian White v Rasztovits/Van den Bergh
Gerwyn Price v Horvat/Carlin
Darren Webster v Van der Voort/Prins

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 GMT)

Rob Cross v Bellmont/De Zwaan
James Wade v Searle/Durrant
Daryl Gurney v Dobey/Razma
Mensur Suljovic v Beaton/Bunting
Adrian Lewis v Pietreczko/Hughes
Max Hopp v Viljanen/Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen v Dolan/Rosenauer
Peter Wright v Zonneveld/Hurtz

Sunday May 12
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 GMT)

Third Round

Evening Session (1915 local time, 1815 GMT)



Author: Pieter