Jonny Clayton qualified for the German Darts Grand Prix in Munich by beating Raymond van Barneveld.

The Ferret overcame the five-time world champion 6-4 in Barnsley to win through European Tour 2 qualifying. James Wade confirmed qualification to both of the opening European Tour events of the year. Wade thrashed Matthew Edgar 6-1, averaging 111.1 in the process. Adrian Lewis also made it two out of two, edging out 17-year-old Jarred Cole. Steve West, Stephen Bunting and Darren Webster join the duo in Munich. James Wilson pulled off an impressive 6-1 defeat of Cameron Menzies, who can fall back on qualifying for the first European Tour event in Leverkusen.

Ryan Searle was the most impressive last 36 winner. He crushed Martin Bradbury 6-0 to secure a first European Tour berth of 2018, after two appearances last year. Alan Tabern also put in a fine showing to beat Robert Thornton 6-1 in Barnsley. Keegan Brown’s upturn in form has continued with a 6-3 win over Ritchie Edhouse. Paul Rowley will appear on the European Tour for the first time, after the Shropshire thrower beat Adam Hunt 6-5. Ryan Meikle secured the 18th and final spot in fine style, checking out 104 to round off a tight 6-5 success against Michael Barnard.

Last 36

Darren Webster 6 | 4 Andrew Gilding
Nathan Aspinall 6 | 2 Rhys Griffin
Stephen Bunting 6 | 4 Dave Ladley
Paul Rowley 6 | 5 Adam Hunt
Jonny Clayton 6 | 4 Raymond van Barneveld
James Wade 6 | 1 Matthew Edgar
Josh Payne 6 | 4 Richard North
Adrian Lewis 6 | 4 Jarred Cole
James Wilson 6 | 1 Cameron Menzies
Alan Tabern 6 | 1 Robert Thornton
Scott Taylor 6 | 5 Ryan Searle
Steve West 6 | 4 Eddie Dootson
Keegan Brown 6 | 3 Ritchie Edhouse
Luke Humphries 6 | 3 David Pallett
William O’Connor 6 | 4 Kevin Painter
Steve Lennon 6 | 3 John Bowles
Chris Dobey 6 | 4 Brendan Dolan
Ryan Meikle 6 | 5 Michael Barnard


Author: Ed McCosh