The attention now turns towards the European Darts Grand Prix in one of the European Tour’s spiritual homes in Sindelfingen.

The action kicks off with Ross Smith who has shown flashes of brilliance so far in 2019 against Pero Ljubic, an Eastern European qualifier.
’Prime Time’ Matthew Edgar returns to the European Tour which means more Edgar TV as well as a tie against James Richardson.
Krzysztof Ratajski will also play this afternoon with a tie against the returning Welshman, Robert Owen awaiting.
Dutch prospect Niels Zonneveld will make his debut and faces a good draw in Michael Hurtz, a German Host Nation Qualifjer.
The next two games could be earmarked as ties of the day with Nathan Aspinall looking fo continue his form against a tricky opponent in Kim Viljanen and Mark McGeeney will take on Josh Payne on his European Tour debut.
The session closes out with Brendan Dolan and Dimitri van den Bergh both in action against Michael Rosenauer and Michael Rasztovits.
Michael van Gerwen is the defending champion at this tournament. The world number one defeated James Wade in the final last year. Both players are among the seeds at the upcoming edition and will enter the European Darts Grand Prix in the second round. Mervyn King (2014), Kim Huybrechts (2015) and Peter Wright (2017) are the other winners of this European Tour event in the past.
Click here for more information about the PDC European Tour, including the format, calendar and the prize fund breakdown.

Schedule – Friday May 10
First Round
Afternoon Session (12:00 GMT, 13:00 local time)

12:00 Pero Ljubic v Ross Smith
12:30 Matthew Edgar v James Richardson
13:00 Robert Owen v Krzysztof Ratajski
13:30 Niels Zonneveld v Michael Hurtz
14:00 Kim Viljanen v Nathan Aspinall
14:30 Mark McGeeney v Josh Payne
15:00 Brendan Dolan v Michael Rosenauer
15:30 Michael Rasztovits v Dimitri van den Bergh

Mark McGeeney makes his European Tour debut at the European Darts Grand Prix

Photo: PDC

Tags: ,

Author: Samuel Gill