Team Brazil has completed its two-man selection for the World Cup of Darts. Last weekend a qualifying tournament was played to determine the second starting spot.

Diogo Portela was already a PDC player in a ‘A Seleção’. Portela moved from Brazil to the United Kingdom a few years ago to work on his dart career. He was also part of the team last year, when Brazil made its debut at the World Cup of Darts.

Portela is assisted this year by Bruno Rangel. The Brazilian won the qualifying tournament. Rangel came into action three times in the past at the WDF World Cup.

The Dutch team is almost certainly Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld. Team Netherlands is the defending champion at this tournament. Peter Wright and Gary Anderson are Scotland’s team at the World Cup of Darts.

Rob Cross will make his debut on behalf of Team England. Cross is currently the number three in the world, with a big lead over compatriots Dave Chisnall, Michael Smith and James Wade. The difference with ‘Chizzy’ and Michael Smith is £ 21,000 on the adjusted ranking. Wade is more than 24,000 pounds behind on ‘Bullyboy’.

There is also a debut for Zoran Lerchbacher, Jonny Clayton and Dimitri van den Bergh. In recent years, Austria were represented by Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez. Chances are that the second position this time is taken by Lerchbacher, who is above ‘Little John’ in the world rankings.

The Belgian colors were defended in the recent editions by the brothers Kim and Ronny Huybrechts. The former is sure of his place, but ‘The Hurricane’ probably gets Dimitri van den Bergh at his side this year.

Jamie Lewis and Jonny Clayton compete for second place in Team Wales. Gerwyn Price is of course the leader of this team. Clayton is currently the second Welshman on the PDC Order of Merit, but the difference with Lewis is three thousand pounds.


Author: Samuel Gill