Raymond van Barneveld went out at the group stage of the Grand Slam of Darts for just the third time as Michael Smith whitewashed the five-time world champion in Wolverhampton.

The Dutchman lost his second round-robin match against Smith, after losing his opener to Krzysztof Ratajski. The Pole beat Adam Smith-Neale in his last game and goes through with ‘Bullyboy’ at the Grand Slam of Darts.

Jonny Clayton claimed the group win in Group A as the Welshman defeated Gary Robson to complete his treble. Michael van Gerwen took the second spot after demolishing Joe Murnan 5-1, who ended on the last place in this poule. Van Gerwen’s second place has big consequences. The world number one will now meet Group B winner Smith, while Clayton faces Ratajski.

Group C was won by James Wade. ‘The Machine’ didn’t even drop a point in the group stage and ended the round-robin with a leg difference of plus eleven. Wesley Harms finished second in this group after edging out Keegan Brown in his last game. Mark Webster ended on the fourth place without winning a match.

Harms will play against two-time world champion Gary Anderson in the second round. ‘The Flying Scotsman’ dominated Group D with three convincing victories. Michael Unterbuchner ended second, at the expense of Ian White and Steve Hine.

The knock-out stage of the Grand Slam of Darts starts on Wednesday evening. The eight winners from Group E-H will come into action.

The prize fund breakdown for this tournament can be found hereClick here for more information about the Grand Slam of Darts.

Group A

Jonny Clayton330+66
Michael van Gerwen321+74
Gary Robson312-52
Joe Murnan303-80

Group B

Michael Smith330+86
Krzysztof Ratajski321+54
Raymond van Barneveld312-62
Adam Smith-Neale303-70

Group C

James Wade330+116
Wesley Harms321-24
Keegan Brown312-22
Mark Webster303-70

Group D

Gary Anderson330+116
Michael Unterbuchner321+24
Ian White312-22
Steve Hine303-110


Tags: | | | |

Author: Pieter