Peter Wright has confirmed his Grand Slam of Darts place.

The Scottish pair of Wright and Gary Anderson, both former Grand Slam of Darts finalists, won the World Cup of Darts on Sunday. Their success in Hamburg means Wright claims a spot reserved for World Cup winner. Anderson, having reached last year’s Grand Slam final, was already assured of an invite.

Anderson and Wright saw off Denmark, Sweden, Belgium, Japan and the Republic of Ireland to take the title. Wright won both of his singles ties as the Scots, beaten finalists last year, came out 3-1 victors.

Steve Lennon and William O’Connor were the duo who fired Ireland to the final. They stunned top opposition including England and Netherlands, previously the only nations to have won the tournament. Thanks to their run, the Irish pairing have provisional Grand Slam of Darts spots. James Wade also has not secured his place yet, but joined the provisional qualifiers with his final at The Masters.

The Grand Slam pits PDC title winners and runners-up, along with qualifiers, against eight BDO representatives.

Gerwyn Price, Dimitri van den Bergh, Martin Schindler and Daryl Gurney all confirmed their places in 2018. Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith joined them as 2019 World Championship finalists. Also confirmed are Rob Cross and Nathan Aspinall.

The likes of Ian White, Dave Chisnall, Glen Durrant, Adrian Lewis and Jonny Clayton could all be in with a chance of taking a place due to European Tour or Pro Tour victories. That will depend on the outcome of the TV events taking place before the cut-off.

Price is the defending Grand Slam champion, having beaten Anderson in a controversial final in Wolverhampton last year.

Gerwyn Price is the defending Grand Slam of Darts champion

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2019 Grand Slam of Darts Qualification List (as of June 10):

Qualifying Players: (invited in the following order up to a maximum of 16 players. Current provisional qualifiers in bold)
2018/19 PDC World Champion; MICHAEL VAN GERWEN – 1
2018 Grand Slam Champion; GERWYN PRICE – 2
2019 Premier League Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2019 World Matchplay Champion;
2019 World Grand Prix Champion;
2018 World Youth Champion; DIMITRI VAN DEN BERGH – 3
2019 Masters Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2019 UK Open Champion; NATHAN ASPINALL – 4
2019 European Champion;
2018 Players Champion; DARYL GURNEY – 5
2019 Champions League Champion;
2019 World Series of Darts Finals Champion;
2019 World Cup winners; GARY ANDERSON – 6PETER WRIGHT – 7
2018/19 PDC World Championship runner-up; MICHAEL SMITH – 8
2018 Grand Slam runner-up; (Gary Anderson)
2019 Premier League runner-up; ROB CROSS – 9
2019 World Matchplay runner-up;
2019 World Grand Prix runner-up;
2018 World Youth Championship runner-up; MARTIN SCHINDLER – 10
2019 Masters runner-up; JAMES WADE – 11
2019 UK Open runner-up; (Rob Cross)
2019 European Championship runner-up;
2018 Players Championship runner-up; (Michael van Gerwen)
2019 Champions League runner-up;
2019 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up;
2019 World Cup runners-up (2 players with highest individual taking preference if only one spot available); STEVE LENNON – 12, WILLIAM O’CONNOR – 13

This list can produce a maximum of 28 players. If it produces more than 16 players, they shall be taken in order as listed above and no further players shall qualify automatically.

If it produces fewer than 16 places then additional places shall be filled from the reserve list in the following order:
2019 European Tour winners (in Order of Merit order at Nov 4): (Michael van Gerwen x4), IAN WHITE x2 – 14, (Daryl Gurney)

2019 Players Championship winners (in Order of Merit order at Nov 4): (Michael van Gerwen x2), DAVE CHISNALL x2 – 15GLEN DURRANT x2 – 16, (Gerwyn Price x2), ADRIAN LEWIS, (James Wade x3), JONNY CLAYTON, (William O’Connor, Jeffrey de Zwaan and Harry Ward.

Tags: , ,

Author: Ed McCosh