Daryl Gurney will join an illustrious list of players to have graced the O2 when he takes part in the Premier League Play-Offs on Thursday night and we take a look at how previous debutants have fared in the competition.

Gurney if he wins will become the fourth player to win the title on their debut with Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson and Michael van Gerwen all winning on their first appearance. He will though reach a different milestone.
Taylor, Van Gerwen and Anderson won on their overall debut while Gurney has had a previous campaign so in theory he could become the first player in Premier League history to win the league on play-off debut having previously had a run in the tournament.
Colin Lloyd, Terry Jenkins, James Wade, Mervyn King, Peter Wright and Michael Smith are six players who have finished runner-up in their first play-off run.
The other nine have finished as losing semi-finalists meaning that Gurney has an even chance of making it going on past form.
Gurney though faces a tough route through if he is to claim a first Premier League crown with Michael van Gerwen standing in his way first.
Click here to follow the live-scores during the play-offs of the Premier League Darts 2019.
Play-Offs – Thursday May 23
The O2, London

Michael van Gerwen v Daryl Gurney
Rob Cross v James Wade
Van Gerwen/Gurney v Cross/Wade


Author: Samuel Gill