The draw for the Players Championship finals has been done with Michael van Gerwen taking on Paul Nicholson in his first major for some time with MVG looking to make it four titles in the Minehead event.
He is not even in the top 5 of the seedings though with Rob Cross taking the number one spot, ‘Voltage’ has had a brilliant first year on the tour and has topped the Pro Tour order of merit as a result, he will take on Robert Owen who had a brilliant Euro Tour run in Maastricht last month and could be a danger.
Gary Anderson will take on Mickey Mansell while Raymond van Barneveld will have the tricky test of Ian White that could prove a banana skin for the Dutch maestro.
Peter Wright will be one of the favourites and will take on Steve ‘Muffin Man’ Hine in one of the Coventry natives first major tournaments for a while that could garner a main stage appearance.
Champions League winner Mensur Suljovic will meet Andy Boulton and World Grand Prix Champion Daryl Gurney will take on recent semi-finalist last weekend and a player returning to form in Jeffrey De Zwaan in some of the big ties of the first round.
Full Draw :
Michael van Gerwen (6) vs Paul Nicholson
Steve West (27) vs Ryan Searle
Darren Webster (11) vs Antonio Alcinas
Mervyn King (22) vs Brendan Dolan
Michael Smith (14) vs Jan Dekker
Simon Whitlock (19) vs Christian Kist
Peter Wright (3) vs Steve Hine
Peter Jacques (30) vs Cristo Reyes
Dave Chisnall (7) vs Joe Murnan
James Wilson (26) vs William O’Connor
Kyle Anderson (10) vs Ron Meulenkamp
Justin Pipe (23) vs Mark Webster
Kim Huybrechts (15) vs Chris Dobey
Robert Thornton (18) vs James Richardson
Daryl Gurney (2) vs Jeffrey de Zwaan
Vincent van der Voort (31) vs Robbie Green
Mensur Suljovic (5) vs Andy Boulton
Stephen Bunting (28) vs Benito van de Pas
Jonny Clayton (12) vs Jeffrey de Graaf
Gerwyn Price (21) vs Jimmy Hendriks
Alan Norris (13) vs Jelle Klaasen
Steve Beaton (20) vs Ronny Huybrechts
Gary Anderson (4) vs Mickey Mansell
Jermaine Wattimena (29) vs Keegan Brown
Joe Cullen (8) vs Jamie Caven
James Wade (25) vs Kevin Painter
Ian White (9) vs Raymond van Barneveld
John Henderson (24) vs Darren Johnson
Richard North (16) vs Peter Hudson
Adrian Lewis (17) vs Mike de Decker
Rob Cross (1) vs Robert Owen
Steve Lennon (32) vs Zoran Lerchbacher
Tags: , , , ,

Author: Samuel Gill