Josh Payne has won his first match at this years Grand Slam of Darts as the 24-year-old from Gravesend defeated Jim Williams 5-2.

Payne managed to hold throw in a nervy sixth leg to move into a 4-2 lead. After that ‘The Maximum’ broke the Welshman’s throw once again to claim the victory in the seventh leg.
Mark McGeeney took his last chance in Group H as he beat Ryan Searle 5-3 after being 1-3 down after four legs. The Welshman missed chances to go 4-3 up, McGeeney did not and took-over the lead from Searle. The Lakeside finalist then held his throw to win the match.
The prize fund breakdown for this tournament can be found here. Click here for more information about the Grand Slam of Darts.

Afternoon session schedule

Ryan Searle (83.56) 3-5 (92.93) Mark McGeeney (H)
Josh Payne (90.20) 5-2 (91.91) Jim Williams (E)
Martin Schindler v Scott Mitchell (G)
Simon Whitlock v Andrew Gilding (F)
Mensur Suljovic v Stephen Bunting (G)
Rob Cross v Dimitri Van den Bergh (H)
Gerwyn Price v Glen Durrant (F)
Peter Wright v Max Hopp (E)

Tags: , ,

Author: Pieter