Two former world champions enter the fray for the second session of the PDC Danish Darts Open.

With the PDC European Tour’s newest event now a session old, eight more games are needed to confirm the second round line-up. Friday’s winners will then join the seeds, and one of the remaining field will become the first Danish Darts Open champion.

Jelle Klaasen is one player who has been on top of the world before. The youngest ever Lakeside champion hasn’t been in the greatest form in 2018. He’ll still be the favourite against Mickey Mansell, but the Northern Irishman has won on the Pro Tour this season and is dangerous. Multiple major winner Robert Thornton then meets Scott Taylor, with the winner taking on Michael van Gerwen on Saturday evening.

Per Laursen, a giant in Scandinavian darts, is one of the Nordic & Baltic qualifiers. His first round opponent is Steve West, who performed well in his last PDC European Tour endeavour in Gibraltar. Paul Nicholson went a step further than West, reaching the semi-finals. He’d love a repeat at the Danish Darts Open. First he’ll need to shake off the Terrier, Peter Jacques.

Rapid Ricky Evans will take on Dennis Nilsson for the right to play Daryl Gurney, before two-time PDC world champion Adrian Lewis faces Development Tour leader Ted Evetts. Lewis, a finalist in Gibraltar, will have set his sights on a Saturday showdown with Michael Smith. Cristo Reyes then meets local qualifier Brian Lokken before there’s an all-German showdown, with Max Hopp playing Dragutin Horvat.

Click here to view the prize fund breakdown for the PDC European Tour.

Evening session schedule

Mickey Mansell v Jelle Klaasen
Robert Thornton v Scott Taylor
Per Laursen v Steve West
Paul Nicholson v Peter Jacques
Ricky Evans v Dennis Nilsson
Adrian Lewis v Ted Evetts
Brian Lokken v Cristo Reyes
Max Hopp v Dragutin Horvat

Tags: | |

Author: Ed McCosh