The regular PDC European Tour season wraps up with the European Darts Trophy.

Wes Newton, Michael Smith and Michael van Gerwen are the three former winners of the European Darts Trophy. Newton’s absent, but Smith or van Gerwen could yet win the title again. There are 46 other players who all fancy a shot, though. For some of them, the title isn’t even the focal point of their efforts. This is the last chance to earn a place in the PDC European Championship.
Luke Humphries has an outside chance of making it to Dortmund. Even one win, coupled with a minor miracle, could do the job. That win would need to be against Keegan Brown, who hasn’t proved his worth in Europe this year. Matthew Edgar and Jeffrey de Graaf, meeting in the second tie, don’t have that sort of concern; unless they can win in Göttingen, neither will be making it to the season finale.
Mickey Mansell, winner of a PDC floor event earlier this year, would love to take that form to the European stage. The veteran Northern Irishman takes on a rookie in George Killington. John Henderson rocks up for the fourth tie of the afternoon, meeting Mark Wilson.
The first of the German contingent playing on home turf, Gabriel Clemens, plays Brendan Dolan next. Dolan desperately need wins if he has a chance of making the European Championship. He’s closely followed by a second Teutonic titan, Robert Marijanovic, who plays Marko Kantele. The winner of this game plays two-time former winner Michael Smith.
Only one player in the afternoon session has already reached the European Championship. That’s Jermaine Wattimena. The fast-flinging Dutchman takes on Ryan Joyce in the penultimate tie of the afternoon. And rounding off the session are Krzysztof Ratajski and Steve West.
Play starts at 1pm CET (which is 12pm BST, BTW).

Afternoon session schedule

Luke Humphries v Keegan Brown
Matthew Edgar v Jeffrey de Graaf
Mickey Mansell v George Killington
Mark Wilson v John Henderson
Gabriel Clemens v Brendan Dolan
Marko Kantele v Robert Marijanovic
Ryan Joyce v Jermaine Wattimena
Krzysztof Ratajski v Steve West

Tags: , ,

Author: Ed McCosh