After a home nation decimation on Saturday, there’s just one German left to fly the flag at the German Darts Grand Prix.

That lone homegrown hero is the tenth seed, Max Hopp. Just over a year ago, the Maximiser scored a career-defining victory at the German Darts Open. If he is to do the same at the German Darts Grand Prix, first he must see off Keegan Brown. The Englishman beat Michael van Gerwen in his last European Tour outing. Then again, he only just edged past Magnus Caris this weekend. Hopp will be well backed and should see this one through.

Michael van Gerwen is another favourite who needs to press that fact home. If he doesn’t, he could be at risk. Krzysztof Ratajski is a very dangerous opponent, and one who consistently beats top players. The Pole just upset Martin Schindler and the German crowd; another upset could be in the offing.

Rob Cross starts his German Darts Grand Prix run against the Austrian Michael Rasztovits. That’s followed by a game that could be over in the blink of an eye. Whether on top form or not, Michael Smith and Ricky Evans should serve up some furious, fast-flinging fun.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Mensur Suljovic is the second of the Austrian contingent competing in Germany. The Gentle takes on Josh Payne in the fifth game of the evening. Joe Cullen is next on, and the seed faces a tough tie. Glen Durrant was impressive as he brushed aside Jamie Hughes. Duzza is aiming for stage success, and will want it to happen sooner rather than later. That puts the Rockstar under some serious pressure.

Simon Whitlock could really do with a morale-boosting run. He retains his seeded status for this tournament at least, and plays Cristo Reyes in round two. Rounding things off are PDC world number three Peter Wright, and Ross Smith. The Englishman is after a second successive Scottish scalp following a comfortable win over Mark Barilli in round one.

Click here for more information about the PDC European Tour, including the format, calendar and the prize fund breakdown.

Evening session schedule

18:15 Max Hopp v Keegan Brown
18:45 Michael van Gerwen v Krzysztof Ratajski
19:15 Rob Cross v Michael Rasztovits
19:45 Michael Smith v Ricky Evans
20:15 Mensur Suljovic v Josh Payne
20:45 Joe Cullen v Glen Durrant
21:15 Simon Whitlock v Cristo Reyes
21:45 Peter Wright v Ross Smith

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Tags: |

Author: Ed McCosh