The stars of PDC and BDO darts go head-to-head in the PDC Grand Slam of Darts.

We head to Wolverhampton as the two codes, worlds apart for 51 weeks of the year, combine for frantic and dramatic action. Last year we had Menzies and van Peer’s tears. There was deadly Durrant and brilliant Bunting, Taylor’s narrow escape against Green, a Webster-off in nine dart drama…and all of that was just in the group stage. The groups resume on Saturday afternoon. Grand Slam dreams will be set up or cast into doubt straight away. PDC or BDO, no player is safe.

First up is a meeting between two young guns with a lot to prove. Max Hopp has been brilliant in Europe; he’ll want to do the same in a UK-based major. Josh Payne will feel he has a real chance of getting out of the group if he beats the Maximiser. Plenty are saying Group F is the Group of Death – Andrew Gilding’s the underdog, but even he will think he has a fair chance. Taking on Goldfinger is Gerwyn Price.

Dimitri van den Bergh meets Ryan Searle in a Group H clash, before van den Bergh’s World Youth Championship final opponent Martin Schindler clashes with Stephen Bunting. The Bullet won all three of his group games last year. Simon Whitlock…didn’t. After somehow losing to both Menzies and van Peer in 2017, the Wizard will want to bring back the magic this year. His first opponent is the toughest of all the BDO options, two-time Lakeside champion Glen Durrant.

Mensur Suljovic will feel under pressure in Group G – top BDO talent Scott Mitchell will look to pile it on. PDC world champion Rob Cross then meets BDO world runner-up Mark McGeeney, before Peter Wright wraps up the session with a tricky tie against Welsh ace Jim Williams.

The prize fund breakdown for this tournament can be found here. Click here for more information about the Grand Slam of Darts.

Afternoon session schedule

13:00 Max Hopp v Josh Payne (E)
13:30 Gerwyn Price v Andrew Gilding (F)
14:00 Dimitri Van den Bergh v Ryan Searle (H)
14:30 Stephen Bunting v Martin Schindler (G)
15:00 Simon Whitlock v Glen Durrant (F)
15:30 Mensur Suljovic v Scott Mitchell (G)
16:00 Rob Cross v Mark McGeeney (H)
16:00 Peter Wright v Jim Williams (E)

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Tags: | |

Author: Ed McCosh