Eight more players are about to leave the PDC Grand Slam. For eight more, it’ll all be alright for now.

In the first game of Tuesday’s session, it’ll be all left for now. Fellow southpaws James Wade and Mark Webster clash in a Group C meeting. Wade is through and Webster is out, so there’s not a great deal of drama in this one. In the second game, Gary Anderson plays Steve Hine. Again, the former’s already through and the latter has sealed his exit. So the first two games aren’t hugely tense. But Groups A-D of the PDC Grand Slam all need concluding in Wolverhampton, so there’ll be drama to be found elsewhere.

The pressure ratchets up a level in the third tie of the night. Ian White and Michael Unterbuchner are both on two points, with a neutral leg difference. Long story short – it’s winner takes all. The same applies in the Group C match between Keegan Brown and Wesley Harms.

Michael van Gerwen will be looking to bounce back from a stunning defeat to Jonny Clayton. Victory over Joe Murnan will be enough to see him qualify ahead of Gary Robson. He’ll need to win 5-3 to top Clayton, all while hoping the Welshman loses to Robson. The BDO ace knows only a 5-1 win will see him through if van Gerwen defeats Murnan.

Adam Smith-Neale is currently bottom of Group B on zero points. Yet he could still qualify for the second round. The World Master needs to defeat the man he inherited the title from, Krzysztof Ratajski. That’s part one of the equation. Michael Smith plays Raymond van Barneveld in the final game of the session, with Barney well aware that it’s win or bust. Ratajski will only need a win and to win a leg fewer than van Barneveld, at least. Or to lose 5-4 and hope Barney also loses. A 5-3 win for Smith-Neale would see him through – unless van Barneveld wins.

Long story short, there are a few permutations.

The prize fund breakdown for this tournament can be found hereClick here for more information about the Grand Slam of Darts.

Tuesday session schedule:

19:15 James Wade v Mark Webster (C)
19:45 Gary Anderson v Steve Hine (D)
20:15 Ian White v Michael Unterbuchner (D)
20:45 Keegan Brown v Wesley Harms (C)
21:15 Michael van Gerwen v Joe Murnan (A)
21:45 Jonny Clayton v Gary Robson (A)
22:15 Krzysztof Ratajski v Adam Smith-Neale (B)
22:45 Michael Smith v Raymond van Barneveld (B)

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Standings for Groups A-D

Group A

Jonny Clayton220+44
Michael van Gerwen211+32
Gary Robson211-32
Joe Murnan202-40

Group B

Michael Smith220+34
Krzysztof Ratajski211+12
Raymond van Barneveld211-12
Adam Smith-Neale202-30

Group C

James Wade (Q)220+74
Keegan Brown211-12
Wesley Harms211-32
Mark Webster (E)202-30

Group D

Gary Anderson (Q)220+74
Ian White21102
Michael Unterbuchner21102
Steve Hine (E)202-70


Tags: | |

Author: Ed McCosh