Sixteen players have started their PDC Grand Slam in fine style – and sixteen haven’t.

The standings after the first day of play in Wolverhampton decides nothing, bar the second day schedule. But it does show us who is in charge going into Sunday’s play. In Group A, it is of course Grand Slam holder Michael van Gerwen. A 112 average led him to a 5-1 win and top spot, with Jonny Clayton joining him on two points.

Krzysztof Ratajski’s superb defeat of Raymond van Barneveld puts him on two points and +2 leg difference – level with Michael Smith. James Wade and Keegan Brown lead Group C, while Ian White and Gary Anderson are the unsurprising Group D table-toppers.

Max Hopp claimed an important early win over Josh Payne. He sits top of Group E, thanks to Peter Wright’s struggle to overcome Jim Williams. Glen Durrant thrashed Simon Whitlock to take top spot in Group F, ahead of Gerwyn Price, while putting Whitlock’s Grand Slam chances in serious doubt.

Group G is led by Mensur Suljovic and Stephen Bunting, though Martin Schindler and Scott Mitchell will still hold hopes of going through. And Rob Cross sits top of Group H, with Dimitri van den Bergh behind him.

The prize fund breakdown for this tournament can be found here. Click here for more information about the Grand Slam of Darts.

Group A

Michael van Gerwen110+42
Jonny Clayton110+32
Joe Murnan101-30
Gary Robson101-40

Group B

Michael Smith110+22
Krzysztof Ratajski110+22
Raymond van Barneveld101-20
Adam Smith-Neale101-20

Group C

James Wade110+52
Keegan Brown110+12
Mark Webster101-10
Wesley Harms101-50

Group D

Ian White110+42
Gary Anderson110+32
Michael Unterbuchner101-30
Steve Hine101-40

Group E

Max Hopp110+22
Peter Wright110+12
Jim Williams101-10
Josh Payne101-20

Group F

Glen Durrant110+42
Gerwyn Price110+32
Andrew Gilding101-30
Simon Whitlock101-40

Group G

Mensur Suljovic110+32
Stephen Bunting110+22
Martin Schindler101-20
Scott Mitchell101-30

Group H

Rob Cross110+32
Dimitri Van den Bergh110+22
Ryan Searle101-20
Mark McGeeney101-30


Tags: | |

Author: Ed McCosh