As part of a new monthly poll you can decide the Player of the Month. Max Hopp, Jonny Clayton and Jeffrey de Zwaan are the four nominees for the honorary title awarded on the basis of performance in April.

Every month, visitors to this website may decide which darter will be awarded this prestigious award. The editors of select three nominees, after which you can select the Player of the Month by means of a poll!

Jeffrey de Zwaan

Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

Photo: Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

De Zwaan had probably his best month to date in darts in April. After two lost finals earlier this year, ‘The Black Cobra’ finally won his first ranking title. After winning victories over Zoran Lerchbacher, Michael Smith, Justin Pipe, Steve Beaton, James Wilson, Gabriel Clemens and Jonny Clayton, De Zwaan triumphed during the tenth Players Championship.

Previously responsible for the elimination of Michael van Gerwen at the UK Open earlier this year, he also signed a contract with darts supplier Unicorn. With new arrows, De Zwaan hopes to shine on a number of major television tournaments later this year.

Max Hopp

Kelly Deckers/PDC Europe

Photo: Kelly Deckers/PDC Europe

Last month was a landmark one for Hopp who became the first German to win a ranking tournament in the PDC. The 21-year-old darter from Idstein was always seen as a brilliant talent, but finally fulfilled his long-standing promise in Saarbrücken.

Especially on the decisive moments, ‘The Maximiser’ was very strong. Hopp threw a 121 finish on the bullseye in the final leg both in the semi-final against Rob Cross and in the final against Michael Smith. The German is now entered into all majors this season meaning more chance to show his promise.

Jonny Clayton

Michael Braunschädel/PDC Europe

Photo: Michael Braunschädel/PDC Europe

Not only did Hopp win his first Euro Tour tournament, Jonny Clayton also claimed his first on the European Tour in competitions usually dominated by Michael van Gerwen. The Welshman was the winner at the Austrian Darts Open. ‘The Ferret’ defeated in form players such as James Wade, Mensur Suljovic and Gerwyn Price on his way to the biggest title of his career to add to his Players Championship title he claimed last year.

[poll id=”4″]

The Vote closes at 22:00 on Sunday 27 May.


Author: Samuel Gill