The field for the 2020 PDC World Darts Championship is almost complete. With only a few days till the draw, 91 out of 96 places are confirmed. The PDC’s showpiece event will be held from December 13 to January 1 2020 at the Alexandra Palace in London.

Defending champion Michael van Gerwen leads the field. The Dutchman claimed his third world title earlier this year after defeating Michael Smith in the World Championship final.

The top 32 of the current PDC Order of merit is definitely certain of participating in Alexandra Palace. The exact order of the seeds has not been determined yet, as the Players Championship Finals will be played this weekend, this event counts for the world ranking. Though it is certain that Van Gerwen and current world number two cannot meet each other before the final.

Five spots left

Of the 32 Pro Tour qualifiers, only number 32 Mickey Mansell has not secured his spot yet. The Northern Irishman can only miss participation if Martin Schindler wins the Players Championship Finals. In that case the German will break into the top 32, which means that the number 32 of the world ranking falls back on the list with Pro Tour qualifiers.

Four of the total of 32 international qualifiers are still unknown. The first of these four places can be given to the winner of the World Youth Championship. Luke Humphries and Adam Gawlas will face each other in the final, which will be played during the final session at the Players Championship Finals.

If Gawlas wins this, then he qualifies for the World Championship. Humphries already secured his place and when he takes the world youth title, this place will go to the PDC Tour Card holders qualifier.

This PDC Tour Card holders qualifier will be played on Monday November 25 and is accessible to PDC Tour Card holders. Two – or three with the above mentioned outcome – World Championship spots will be on offer during this event. The UK & Ireland Women’s Qualifier will also be played on Monday. This is the last World Championship qualifier for the main event.

Provisional top 32 seeds

1. Michael van Gerwen
2. Rob Cross
3. Gerwyn Price
4. Michael Smith
5. Gary Anderson
6. Daryl Gurney
7. Peter Wright
8. James Wade
9. Dave Chisnall
10. Ian White
11. Mensur Suljovic
12. Nathan Aspinall
13. Adrian Lewis
14. Simon Whitlock
15. Joe Cullen
16. Jonny Clayton
17. Jermaine Wattimena
18. Darren Webster
19. Krzysztof Ratajski
20. Stephen Bunting
21. Mervyn King
22. Jeffrey de Zwaan
23. Chris Dobey
24. Max Hopp
25. Steve Beaton
26. Keegan Brown
27. Steve West
28. Dimitri van den Bergh
29. Danny Noppert
30. Glen Durrant
31. John Henderson
32. Ricky Evans

Pro Tour Qualifiers

1. Jamie Hughes
2. José de Sousa
3. Vincent van der Voort
4. Brendan Dolan
5. Gabriel Clemens
6. Justin Pipe
7. William O’Connor
8. Ron Meulenkamp
9. Harry Ward
10. Ross Smith
11. Kyle Anderson
12. Kim Huybrechts
13. Ted Evetts
14. Andy Boulton
15. Ryan Joyce
16. Raymond van Barneveld
17. Luke Humphries
18. Darius Labanauskas
19. Ryan Searle
20. Arron Monk
21. Ritchie Edhouse
22. Mark McGeeney
23. Josh Payne
24. Cristo Reyes
25. James Richardson
26. Jelle Klaasen
27. James Wilson
28. Luke Woodhouse
29. Steve Lennon
30. Rowby-John Rodriguez
31. Ryan Meikle

32. Mickey Mansell

International Qualifiers

1. Seigo Asada
2. Danny Baggish
3. Keane Barry
4. Matt Campbell
5. Jan Dekker
6. Damon Heta
7. Lourence Ilagan
8. Jose Justicia
9. Marko Kantele
10. Robbie King
11. Boris Koltsov
12. Nitin Kumar
13. Nico Kurz
14. Zoran Lerchbacher
15. Paul Lim
16. Noel Malicdem
17. Geert Nentjes
18. Devon Petersen
19. Diogo Portela
20. Benjamin Pratnemer
21. Madars Razma
22. Ben Robb
23. Callan Rydz
24. Mikuru Suzuki
25. Ciaran Teehan
26. Yuki Yamada
27. Darin Young
28. Xiaochen Zong

29. Winner World Youth Championship / PDC Tour Card Holders Qualifier
30. PDC Tour Card Holders Qualifier
31. PDC Tour Card Holders Qualifier
32. UK & Ireland Women’s Qualifier

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Author: Pieter