2018 has seen in spells Michael van Gerwen’s dominance dispelled with six different PDC major champions crowned this year as the final event before the World Championship has been completed.

Those champions are:

Rob Cross (2018 World Championship)

Gary Anderson (UK Open, World Matchplay, Champions League of Darts)

Michael van Gerwen (The Masters, Premier League, World Grand Prix)

James Wade (European Championship, World Series of Darts Finals)

Gerwyn Price (Grand Slam of Darts)

Daryl Gurney (Players Championship Finals)

This is compared to other years where in 2017 it was four and in 2016 it was two further showing the dominance that MVG has had over the past few years.

By comparison it has been Gary Anderson who has led this year and it also included a first title for Gerwyn Price.

It remains to be seen whether this trend of different champions will continue next year but we have seen a high number of different title holders for the first time in a while.

Tags: |

Author: Samuel Gill