Phil Taylor won another World Series title event in Australia, defeating Peter Wright in the inaugural Melbourne Darts Masters. The Power, in his retirement year defeated Peter Wright 11-8 in the final.
Again, the match lacked some of the power scoring we have come to associate with the PDC and players such as Wright, Taylor and the other top seeds we have seen this week. But Taylor made up for that in the final couple of legs with some exceptional finishes.
It was Wright who got the best of the early stages, breaking in the 6th leg with a 12-darter. The match had been on throw until then. He also had a chance at the next leg, missing 4 darts from tops allowing Taylor to return after he’d also squandered 2 darts at double 20. The 16-time world champion then took advantage of more misses by Wright to square it up at 4-4.
Taylor took the next 2 legs to lead 6-4, the first time he had hit the front all match and never surrendered that advantage. Even after Wright levelled up at 8-8, Taylor took the next 3 legs, finishes of 112 and 126 to take the final two.
Taylor has now claimed 8 World series titles, the majority of which have been won in Australia. He’ll head to Perth next week on a high and most likely as favourite again, to attempt to complete the sweep in Australia again this year.

Tags: , ,

Author: Jack Garwood