Ahead of the Grand Slam of Darts beginning this weekend at the Aldersley Leisure Village, the PDC have revealed the top five Grand Slam of Darts matches in history.

5. James Wade vs Andy Hamilton – Group Stage – 2009

Number five sees James Wade face off against Andy Hamilton in the 2009 group stage in a dramatic nine-dart shootout which was only the second in the tournament’s history.

Hamilton had defeated him earlier in the night but they were stuck on points and leg difference which saw them take to the stage for the shootout. It was Wade though who hit a brilliant 180 to move through.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

4. Gerwyn Price vs. Gary Anderson – 2018 Final

Number four is the turn of Gerwyn Price and Gary Anderson in last year’s final. One of the most highly anticipated finals in Grand Slam history and it didn’t disappoint. It was fraught with controversy with Price despite winning ending the night the villain of the piece.

He was fined later a record fine which was halved after appeal for over celebrating in front of Anderson; which as a result has seen him established as the pantomime villain among the crowd with a lot of discussion one year on whether or not it is towing the line.

Despite that, Price came from 13-11 down to turn the game and claim victory to the delight of the Welshman who became a first time major winner.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

3. Raymond van Barneveld v. Michael van Gerwen – 2012 Final

Number three is the turn of Raymond van Barneveld claiming glory over Michael van Gerwen in the 2012 Final.

Van Barneveld had not won a major title in five years and claimed his fifth title with a brilliant 16-14 victory over Mighty Mike in what remains one of his most recent best moments in the PDC.

Van Gerwen pulled it back from 6-2 down going 12-11 behind but Van Barneveld hit an 11 dart leg to claim the tie and one that saw him get very emotional.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

2. Scott Waites v. James Wade – 2010 Final

Scott Waites remains the only BDO representative in the history of the Grand Slam of Darts to win it and he claimed victory nine years ago.

Waites was trailing 8-0 in the final against Wade but in one of the most dramatic comebacks of all time in a PDC major; he won 16 of the next 20 legs to pull off the win.

Many have criticised Waites in the past for only just recently attempting PDC darts in the latter half of his career; but many point to this final as one of the moments where ‘Scotty 2 Hotty’ proved just how good he is.

Simon Drake/Tip Top Pics

Photo: Simon Drake/Tip Top Pics

1. Phil Taylor v. Adrian Lewis – 2013 Semi-Final

As expected the number one is Phil Taylor against Adrian Lewis in the 2013 semi-final at the Wolves Civic in a match many regard as one of the best, if not the best dart match of all time.

Both players played their part with Lewis hitting 18 180’s and averaging 110.99, despite that the Master trumped the Student as Taylor hit 109.76 and claimed the victory.

It finished 16-9 to Taylor with overall an incredible 32 180’s as he defeated Robert Thornton in the final.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Author: Samuel Gill