Michael van Gerwen was unseeded at a PDC tournament for the first time in six years last weekend. It did not stop ‘Mighty Mike’ from winning the Auckland Darts Masters on Sunday.

Van Gerwen earned twelve points for the World Series ranking. The 29-year-old Dutchman brought his point total to 23 and climbed from the sixth place to the first place. Reigning world champion Rob Cross has one point less than the world number one.
Gary Anderson, winner of the US Darts Masters, is third with 21 points. Peter Wright completes the top-4 with twenty points. ‘Snakebite’ lost four times in the semi-final of a World Series-tournament this year.
In 2018, events will take place in Germany, Las Vegas, Shanghai, Auckland, Melbourne and Brisbane. The top eight players from the final rankings below qualifying for the season-ending World Series of Darts Finals.
The winner of each World Series event receives twelve points, while the runner-up will be awarded with eight points. First round losers get one point, while quarter-finalists (three) and semi-finalists (five) points also receive points for the ranking table.

1Michael van Gerwen23
2Rob Cross22
3Gary Anderson21
4Peter Wright20
5Michael Smith16
6Mensur Suljovic12
7Raymond van Barneveld11
8James Wade8
8=Dimitri Van den Bergh8
10Daryl Gurney6
11Simon Whitlock5
12Gerwyn Price4
13Dawson Murschell3
13=Jamie Lewis3
13=Kyle Anderson3
13=Mark McGrath3
13=Royden Lam3
18=Max Hopp1
18=Martin Schindler1
18=Gabriel Clemens1
18=Robert Marijanovic1
18=Dragutin Horvat1
18=Stefan Stoyke1
18=Nico Cruz1
18=Manfred Bilderl1
18=Dave Cameron1
18=DJ Sayre1
18=Jeff Smith1
18=Danny Lauby1
18=Ross Snook1
18=John Norman Jnr1
18=Joseph Huffman1
18=Seigo Asada1
18=Lourence Ilagan1
18=Yuanjun Liu1
18=Chengan Liu1
18=Xiaochen Zong1
18=Lihao Wen1
18=Hailong Chen1
18=Cody Harris1
18=Warren Parry1
18=Haupai Puha1
18=Ben Robb1
18=Tahuna Irwin1
18=John Hurring1
18=Tim Pusey1


Tags: ,

Author: Pieter