James Wade is the latest winner on the penultimate day of the PDC Summer Series seeing off Rob Cross in an 8-2 rout to conclude a brilliant series from ‘The Machine’.

It is the first title of the year for Wade and despite Cross hitting a nine-dart finish in his previous game, it was the former who showed heroics as usual on the finishing including a 156 and 108.

Wade claimed the first leg holding throw on his trusty double 10. Cross though was straight back with a 101 checkout to make it 1-1.

Cross squandered darts to break throw and Wade returned for another double 10 to go 2-1 up but for ‘Voltage’ a second ton plus came in taking out 108 for 2-2.

A brilliant 108 checkout saw some prime finishing from Wade to break and take the initiative at 4-2 up. He strengthened his grip from there and went one away with a brilliant 156 checkout to make it 6-2 and another double 10.

He concluded it from there with another break of throw winning it 8-2 in a thoroughly dominant win.

Click here for more information about the PDC Summer Series, including the prize money breakdown.

Results Players Championship 12

Rob Cross (101.5) 6 | 5 (96.4) Jamie Hughes
Mensur Suljovic (95.5) 6| 4 (100.5) Daryl Gurney
James Wade (98.0) 6 | 0 (85.6) Michael Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski (96.1) 1 | 6 (92.1) Ian White


Rob Cross (110.1) 7 | 2 (93.5) Mensur Suljovic
James Wade (103.2) 7 | 4 (103.4) Ian White


Rob Cross (95.7) 2 | 8 (95.8) James Wade

Tags: , ,

Author: Samuel Gill