Wollongong and Townsville will be the site of two of the legs of this years’ World Series of Darts, it has been revealed.

The World Series of Darts will return for its triple header down under; two new towns will be given the World’s best alongside local talent.

Last year this included Damon Heta who has since gone on to claim his place on the PDC ProTour; after winning the Brisbane Darts Masters, showing what can be achieved.

In terms of dates, The New South Wales Darts Masters will be held in Wollongong on August 14-15; before the Queensland Darts Masters is held in Townsville on August 28-29.

“We’ve travelled around Australia in recent years with the World Series of Darts and it’s exciting for us to be visiting Wollongong and Townsville for the first time in 2020 to take these fantastic events to new audiences,” said PDC Chief Executive Matthew Porter.

“Both are strong sporting areas and this is a great opportunity to see the world’s top darts players live in high-profile international tournaments.

“After Damon Heta’s amazing achievement winning in Brisbane last year, all eyes will be on the local stars from Australia and New Zealand to see who can grasp their opportunity to claim glory alongside the biggest names in darts.”


Author: Samuel Gill