Peter Wright has claimed the final day of the PDC Summer Series defeating Gerwyn Price in an 8-2 rout to top the Order of Merit also in the end.

Wright hadn’t won a title before Sunday losing to Michael van Gerwen on the opening day but the two best players based off ProTour ranking rose to the top.

‘Snakebite’ defeated Jelle Klaasen (6-4), Darren Webster (6-2), Brendan Dolan (6-1), Nathan Aspinall (6-5), Wayne Jones (7-2) before making it to the final seeing off ‘The Iceman’.

Price began the final with a 180 and a 61 finish to claim the opening leg. A second 180 was hit by the former but Wright broke back with a 64 finish for 1-1.

He went on to make it three straight legs with another break to open up a two-leg cushion at 3-1. Wright followed that up with another 180 to begin his leg on throw and he hit a picture perfect 74 finish to make it 4-1.

‘The Iceman’ kicked off his throw on 180 and 140 but a 145 set up left Wright on 36 which he hit to break again at 5-1 up.

Wright missed 155 for the hold on double 19 and Price mustered up a 54 checkout on double ten to break back and ask the question.

He began to wake up with a 70 checkout needed with Wright leaving 40 but he couldn’t hit it. ‘Snakebite’ came back staring down the barrel at double 20 and hit it to go 6-2 up and break back.

A 74 checkout which was threatened when he strayed into treble nine saw him go within one and he completed it from there taking it 8-2.

Results Players Championship 13

Gerwyn Price (102.3) 6 | 1 (87.6) James Wade
John Henderson (90.3) 3 | 6 (92.9) Devon Petersen
Peter Wright (96.9) 6 | 5 (97.2) Nathan Aspinall
Scott Baker (79.0) 0 | 6 (97.0) Wayne Jones


Gerwyn Price (102.3) 7 | 6 (113.5) Devon Petersen
Peter Wright (109.0) 7 | 2 (91.8) Wayne Jones


Gerwyn Price (91.8) 2 | 8 (99.3) Peter Wright

Tags: , ,

Author: Samuel Gill