Field for men's and ladies BDO World Darts Championship 2020 confirmed

As a result of the final events in Belgium this past weekend, the BDO World Championship field has been all but confirmed.

The top 16 who will be seeded in the first round of action in the men's event at the BDO World Darts Championship is headed up by Wesley Harms, Jim Williams and Richard Veenstra.

Further down Martin Adams will make his return to the competition after a year away in their new home of the O2 Indigo. Leighton Bennett will be the player to watch with the 13-year old part of the main draw as 18th in the rankings.

Ross Montgomery and Aaron Turner are the final players with current qualification but that could all change with this only the case if there is no Asian qualifier or if the World Master is already qualified.

The Regional Qualifiers see stalwarts such as Paul Hogan and David Cameron; alongside the likes of Darren Herewini, who has previously impressed on the World Series and he will get a chance to make an impression at the BDO World Championship.

In the Ladies, Lisa Ashton and Mikuru Suzuki are first and second in a field that hasn't really yielded a lot of shocks. Beau Greaves, another real prospect at only 15 is also one of the main seeds and so is another story.

Another potential story is Trina Gulliver with 'The Golden Girl' potentially not qualifying if an outsider wins the World Masters who could miss her first World Championship in her career. That will be fully confirmed though shortly.

\The field for both championships will be completed on October 28 with the Playoff Qualifiers. There will be four spots on offer for the men's competition, while there is two spots left for the ladies event.


Top 16 (seeded in First Round)

1 Wesley Harms (Netherlands) 415
2 Jim Williams (Wales) 368
3 Richard Veenstra (Netherlands) 353
4 Dave Parletti (England) 311
5 Wayne Warren (Wales) 310
6 Nick Kenny (Wales) 301
7 Martijn Kleermaker (Netherlands) 298
8 Willem Mandigers (Netherlands) 275
9 Scott Mitchell (England) 268
10 Adam Smith-Neale (England) 233
11 Mario Vandenbogaerde (Belgium) 232
12 Andy Hamilton (England) 217
13 = David Evans (England) 212
13 = Gary Robson (England) 212
15 Ryan Hogarth (Scotland) 202
16 Scott Waites (England) 199

17-24 in BDO Rankings (First Round)

17 Gary Stone (Scotland) 197
18 Leighton Bennett (England) 192
19 Chris Landman (Netherlands) 190
20 Michael Unterbuchner (Germany) 187
21 Dennie Olde Kalter (Netherlands) 185
22 Gino Vos (Netherlands) 181
23 Martin Adams (England) 180
24 Sebastian Steyer (Poland) 178

25-28 in BDO Rankings (Preliminary Round)

25 Simon Stainton (England) 176
26 Brian Raman (Belgium) 172
26 = Ross Montgomery (Scotland) 172 (If No Asian Qualifer)
28 = Aaron Turner (England) 165 (If World Master has already qualified)

Regional Qualifiers

Baltic: Andreas Harrysson (Sweden)
British: Paul Hogan (England)
Canada: David Cameron (Canada)
Eastern Europe: Gabriel Pascaru (Romania)
New Zealand: Darren Herewini (New Zealand)
USA: Joe Chaney (USA)
Western Europe: Thibault Tricole (France)
Australia: Justin Thompson (Australia)


Top 8 (seeded in First Round)

1 Lisa Ashton (England) 433
2 Mikuru Suzuki (Japan) 383
3 Aileen de Graaf (Netherlands) 370
4 Fallon Sherrock (England) 368
5 Deta Hedman (England) 356
6 Beau Greaves (England) 355
7 Anastasia Dobromyslova (Russia) 339
8 Lorraine Winstanley (England) 337

9-14 in BDO Rankings

9 Laura Turner (England) 326
10 Maria O'Brien (England) 280
11 Casey Gallagher (England) 274
12 Paula Jacklin (England) 251
13 Sharon Prins (Netherlands) 245
14 Trina Gulliver (England) 239 (If World Master has already qualified)

Field for men's and ladies BDO World Darts Championship 2020 confirmed
Photo: Chris Sargeant/Tip Top Pics

Place comments