We’re all going on a European Tour – again.

The PDC European Tour returns to bring darting brilliance back across the continent. Last year brought 13 events in six countries and nine different winners, including maiden stage titles for Joe Cullen, Jamie Hughes and Krzysztof Ratajski.

In 2020, the tour will feature seven nations. Out goes Denmark from the schedule, to make way for the return of both Belgium and Hungary. Hasselt hosts the European Tour opener, the Belgian Darts Championship, at the end of February.

There’s also a shake-up to the format, as we reported back in November. There are more guaranteed spots for homegrown players – it means we’ll see lots of Max Hopp and Gabriel Clemens in the seven events held in Germany.

The Czech Darts Open in Prague will round off the 2020 European Tour season. Two weeks after, the top 32 from the European Tour Order of Merit will head to the Westfalenhalle in Dortmund to compete in the European Championship, with competitors battling to take the title Rob Cross won in 2019.

Each event is held across three days; the first round is played on the Friday, with seeds entering for the second round on Saturday. Sunday’s play features the latter stages, including the final.

Calendar PDC European Tour 2020

Event Date Location
ET1 Belgian Darts Championship February 28 – March 1 Hasselt
ET2 European Darts Grand Prix March 20-22 Sindelfingen
ET3 European Darts Open March 27-29 Leverkusen
ET4 German Darts Grand Prix April 11-13 Munich
ET5 Austrian Darts Open May 1-3 Premstätten
ET6 Hungarian Darts Open May 8-10 Budapest
ET7 International Darts Open May 22-24 Riesa
ET8 European Darts Matchplay June 26-28 Trier
ET9 German Darts Championship July 3-5 Hildesheim
ET10 German Darts Open July 10-12 Jena
ET11 Dutch Darts Masters September 11-13 Leeuwarden
ET12 Gibraltar Darts Trophy September 25-27 Gibraltar
ET13 Czech Darts Open October 16-18 Prague
Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Author: Pieter Verbeek