Damon Heta has concluded a dream run by becoming the Brisbane Darts Masters champion defeating the form player in darts and the defending champion, Rob Cross in a thriller.

Heta didn’t lead once throughout the contest but held his nerve in a decider to become the first Local Qualifier to win in his home country in the history of the World Series and to make it two titles in two weekends after claiming the BDO Australian Open.

Cross started brilliantly going 3-1 up with a break of throw after Heta had hit back with a brilliant 101 checkout but at the break it was a locked up at parity with ‘The Heat’ applying the pressure with a classy 164 checkout for the second time in the tournament to really ask the question.

‘Voltage’ responded when they returned with a 104 checkout to lead 4-3. Heta restored the tie with it at 4-4 but Cross just kept going ahead and it counted with him going 6-4 up from there to potentially claim a timely break of throw.

Heta though should his resilience and why he has made it so far in this tournament by claiming back the break of throw with a 75 checkout and he then made it all square from the jaws of defeat taking out 68 to continue his clinical finishing.

Cross though held throw meaning Heta had to send it all the way to a decider in which ‘Voltage’ would have the throw anyway.

He did so and in an incredible leg where he put the pressure on Cross, he was first to a double and second dart in hand he completed the unthinkable.

Click here for all the Brisbane Darts Masters info from our Tournament Centre.

Day Two Schedule

Kyle Anderson (78.42) 0-8 (101.9) Simon Whitlock
Damon Heta (92.52) 8-6 (91.86) Gary Anderson
Rob Cross (95.73) 8-4 (96.71) Raymond van Barneveld
Daryl Gurney (95.53) 8-5 (98.03) Michael van Gerwen

Simon Whitlock (91.04) 6-8 (90.49) Damon Heta
Rob Cross (106.53) 8-3 (96.83) Daryl Gurney

Damon Heta (96.31) 8-7 (97.92) Rob Cross

Tags: ,

Author: Samuel Gill