The third of five PDC Nordic & Baltic Pro Tour weekends took place in Iceland last weekend. Darius Labanauskas and Marko Kantele picked up the titles in Keflavik.

Labanauskas won his second title of the season, while Kantele claimed a maiden glory in 2019. There will be two more PDC Nordic & Baltic Pro Tour weekends this year.

Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts

Photo: Pieter Verbeek/PV-Darts


Darius Labanauskas narrowly prevailed against Madars Razma in the final of the fifth PDCNB Pro Tour event and claimed his second title after winning the second event. Marko Kantele reached the semi-finals on his birthday, while the two Swedes Daniel Larsson and Dennis Nilsson were knocked out in the quarter-finals.

Niels Jørgen Hansen was eliminated directly in the first round against Mindaugas Barauskas, the Lithuanian World Cup participant. Barauskas fell in the next round to Labanauskas. Per Laursen and Niels Heinsøe also lost their second round matches.

Madars Razma reached the quarter-finals after defeating Cor Dekker 6-1 while producing a 99 average. Oskar Lukasiak narrowly beat Dennis Nilsson in the quarter-finals. The other three quarter-finals were one-sided. Razma continued his strong day with a 6-4 victory over Kantele to reach the final, while Labanauskas battled past Lukasiak.

The Lithuanian took a 4-0 lead in the final, before Razma came back to 3-4. The Latvian took out 116 in the tenth leg to level up the match and forced a leg-decider. Both players missed several match-darts, before Labanauskas claimed the title.


Madars Razma 6-1 Roland Lenngren
Marko Kantele 6-2 Ulf Ceder
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Daniel Larsson
Oskar Lukasaik 6-5 Dennis Nilsson


Madars Razma 6-4 Marko Kantele
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Oskar Lukasiak


Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Madars Razma



Photo: PDC

One day later Marko Kantele gave himself a late birthday present after winning the sixth event against Dennis Nilsson. Razma and Larsson reached the semi-finals, while Labanauskas reached the quarter-finals.

All the well-known players except Per Laursen reached the third round. Lukasiak, Barauskas, Dekker, Ceder and Hansen went out in the third round. Ivan Springborg and Soren Hedegaard came unexpectedly to the quarter-finals.

Both lost in the quarter-finals. Springborg went out to Nilsson, while Razma knocked out Hedegaard. Larsson beat Labanauskas with a whitewash, while Kantele booked a convincing victory against Heinsoe.

The Swedish semi-final between Larsson and Nilsson was won by the latter, while Kantele took advantage of Razma’s weak performance by defeating him 6-0.

In the final it was a head-to-head race until 4-3 for Nilsson. Then Kantele was able to win three legs in a row to claim his first title of the season.


Madars Razma 6-1 Soren Hedegaard
Marko Kantele 6-2 Niels Heinsoe
Daniel Larsson 6-0 Darius Labanauskas
Dennis Nilsson 6-1 Ivan Springborg


Marko Kantele 6-0 Madars Razma
Dennis Nilsson 6-4 Daniel Larsson


Marko Kantele 6-4 Dennis Nilsson


Author: Elias Wilhelm