2020 PDC European Tour Tournament Centre: Explanation of format, calendar and prize money breakdown

The PDC European Tour is back. What better time to enjoy some good old fashioned European unity?

Established in 2012, the European Tour has become a staple of the PDC Pro Tour. It is also one of the most accessible in terms of big stage experience and serious ranking money. PDC players have come to see European Tour spots as a golden ticket.

Last year, we saw nine different winners in the 13 events. Michael van Gerwen dominated as usual, winning four, while Ian White claimed two titles. Daryl Gurney, Dave Chisnall, Jamie Hughes, Mensur Suljovic, Joe Cullen, Gerwyn Price and Krzysztof Ratajski all won one of them.

Starting on February 28, the 2020 tour visits seven different countries, and 13 locations. Sindelfingen, Leverkusen, Munich, Riesa, Trier, Hildesheim and Jena will all host events in Germany. There is one event in the Netherlands, Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Belgium and Gibraltar.

Big names taking part

The European Tour events are frequently populated by the world's top players. Only Gary Anderson has a proclivity for skipping European trips. It means that the Scot is a long-term European Championship absentee. The likes of Van Gerwen, Wright, Price and Suljovic can be spotted at almost every event.

2020 PDC European Tour Tournament Centre: Explanation of format, calendar and prize money breakdown
Photo: Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe

How it works

The top 16 in the Pro Tour Order of Merit and two highest ranked players of the host country at the cut-off point gain instant entry to a European Tour event. They are joined by 30 qualifiers. The Tour Card Holders Qualifier tournament provides 24 qualifiers for each tournament.

The remaining six spots are taken by two Home Nation Qualifiers, two players without a Tour Card, a Nordic & Baltic qualifier and an Eastern European qualifier.

The 32 best players on the PDC European Tour Order of Merit after 13 European Tour events take part in the European Championship in Dortmund.

2020 Calendar

Event Date Location
ET1 Belgian Darts Championship February 28 – March 1 Hasselt
ET2 European Darts Grand Prix March 20-22 Sindelfingen
ET3 European Darts Open March 27-29 Leverkusen
ET4 German Darts Grand Prix April 11-13 Munich
ET5 Austrian Darts Open May 1-3 Premstätten
ET6 Hungarian Darts Open May 8-10 Budapest
ET7 International Darts Open May 22-24 Riesa
ET8 European Darts Matchplay June 26-28 Trier
ET9 German Darts Championship July 3-5 Hildesheim
ET10 German Darts Open July 10-12 Jena
ET11 Dutch Darts Masters September 11-13 Leeuwarden
ET12 Gibraltar Darts Trophy September 25-27 Gibraltar
ET13 Czech Darts Open October 16-18 Prague


First round – Best of 11 legs
Second round – Best of 11 legs
Third round – Best of 11 legs
Quarter-finals – Beste of 11 legs
Semi-finals – Best of 13 legs
Final – Best of 15 legs

Prize Money breakdown European Tour 2020

Result Prize money
Winner £25,000
Runner-up £10,000
Semi-final £6,500
Quarter-final £5,000
Last 16 £3,000
Last 32 £2,000
Last 48 £1,000
Total £140,000
Read more about:
PDC Post Type European Tour

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments