Draw 2022 PDC World Darts Championship: Price to begin title defence against Edhouse or Wen, Sherrock-Beaton in first round

The draw has taken place ahead of the 2022 PDC World Darts Championship which is due to return once more to the Alexandra Palace between December 15 - January 3, 2022.

Defending champion Gerwyn Price will take on Ritchie Edhouse or Lihao Wen as he begins his World title defence.

One of his main rivals, Michael van Gerwen will take on Chas Barstow or John Norman Jnr, the livewire Canadian qualifier.

Peter Wright fresh from his Players Championship Finals triumph and defending his win from two years ago will face Ryan Meikle or Fabian Schmutzler.

Fallon Sherrock will return to the site of her emergence on the PDC stage at the Alexandra Palace and will face Steve Beaton with a tie against Kim Huybrechts to come for the winner.

Fellow trailblazer Lisa Ashton could face Michael Smith if she can get past Ron Meulenkamp in the opening round.

Jonny Clayton, a perennial major winner this year will take on Keane Barry or Royden Lam in the second round.

Dimitri van den Bergh is set to face a potential tough test in Florian Hempel or Martin Schindler who will face off in one of the top ties of the first round.

Ryan Searle's reward for becoming 15th seed as a result of reaching the final in Minehead will be William Borland or Bradley Brooks.

Nathan Aspinall could face Paul Lim who will take on Joe Murnan in the opening round.

Two-time World Champion Gary Anderson will face either Adrian Lewis or Matt Campbell in another top tie.

While facing Raymond van Barneveld on his return to the Alexandra Palace is Lourence Ilagan with the winner set to face off against Rob Cross.

2022 PDC World Darts Championship - Draw (in full)

[1] Gerwyn Price v Ritchie Edhouse / Lihao Wen

[32] Kim Huybrechts v Steve Beaton / Fallon Sherrock

[16] Stephen Bunting v Ross Smith / Jeff Smith

[17] Dirk van Duijvenbode v Jermaine Wattimena / Boris Koltsov

[8] Jonny Clayton v Keane Barry / Royden Lam

[25] Gabriel Clemens v Lewy Williams / Toyokazu Shibata

[9] Michael Smith v Ron Meulenkamp / Lisa Ashton

[24] Glen Durrant v William O'Connor / Danny Lauby

[4] James Wade v Maik Kuivenhoven / Ky Smith

[29] Vincent van der Voort v Adam Hunt / Boris Krcmar

[13] Joe Cullen v Ted Evetts / Jim Williams

[20] Simon Whitlock v Martijn Kleermaker / John Michael

[5] Dimitri Van den Bergh v Florian Hempel / Martin Schindler

[28] Devon Petersen v Jamie Hughes / Raymond Smith

[12] Krzysztof Ratajski v Steve Lennon / Madars Razma

[21] Mervyn King v Ryan Joyce / Roman Benecky

[2] Peter Wright v Ryan Meikle / Fabian Schmutzler

[31] Damon Heta v Luke Woodhouse / James Wilson

[15] Ryan Searle v William Borland / Bradley Brooks

[18] Danny Noppert v Jason Heaver / Gordon Mathers

[7] Jose de Sousa v Jason Lowe / Daniel Larsson

[26] Mensur Suljovic v Alan Soutar / Diogo Portela

[10] Nathan Aspinall v Joe Murnan / Paul Lim

[23] Brendan Dolan v Callan Rydz / Yuki Yamada

[3] Michael van Gerwen v Chas Barstow / John Norman Jnr

[30] Chris Dobey v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez / Ben Robb

[14] Dave Chisnall v Darius Labanauskas / Charles Losper

[19] Luke Humphries v Rowby-John Rodriguez / Nick Kenny

[6] Gary Anderson v Adrian Lewis / Matt Campbell

[27] Ian White v Scott Mitchell / Chris Landman

[11] Rob Cross v Raymond van Barneveld / Lourence Ilagan

[22] Daryl Gurney v Ricky Evans / Nitin Kumar

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments