Ratajski seals first title of 2021 with decider win over Cullen to end Players Championship season

Last year, Joe Cullen defeated Krzysztof Ratajski in the last final of the Players Championship of the season but it was 'The Polish Eagle' who's turn it is to soar to victory to conclude the 2021 ProTour season.

Ratajski recovered from 7-5 to do so forcing a decider against Cullen to claim his first title of the season for a player who is usually a perennial winner on the Players Championship series.

He joins Chris Dobey and Michael van Gerwen as this week's winners and continues a run of making the last final of the season every year since winning his Tour Card.

But this time, he takes away £10,000 and goes into tomorrow's Grand Slam of Darts qualifier aiming to seal his Wolverhampton spot.

Ratajski missed a break opportunity early on and Cullen took the opening leg on throw.

Two 180's and a 41 checkout saw Ratajski pin double 16 for an 11-darter to draw it level. An 80 checkout saw Cullen hold to make it 2-1.

He claimed a break from there pinning double 12 last dart in hand to make it 3-1. A superb 139 checkout though saw Ratajski hit straight back to make it 3-2.

A fourth 180 and an 80 checkout saw Ratajski make it parity at 3-3 but despite six 180's in seven legs, he squandered the same amount at doubles to break and Cullen made it 4-3.

Ratajski missed double 18 for a 90 checkout but no mistake when he returned as he pinned 36 to make it 4-4.

Cullen didn't go for the 170 despite pinning both treble 20's with Ratajski well back but returned for double 16 for 5-4.

A 108 checkout saw Ratajski make it 5-5 and hold his throw. Cullen missed three to hold in the requisite leg but wasn't punished as Ratajski missed the bull.

Cullen returned for double three last dart in hand to go 6-5 up. He missed the bull to break but returned as Ratajski missed the same target to hold and it was 7-5.

Ratajski missed the bull again for a 121 checkout but returned with Cullen not able to pin a 160 checkout. The former refused to buckle going one behind with a break at 7-6.

He refused to slip and forced a decider with a hold in the form of an 87 checkout. A slip from Cullen handed Ratajski the initiative and the Polish Eagle was on 112 which he pinned.

Players Championship 30 (PDC Super Series 8) Selected Results

Last 16

Matthew Edgar (90.70) 6 | 4 (92.20) Luke Humphries

Michael van Gerwen (97.15) 6 | 4 (94.76) Damon Heta

Joe Cullen (102.51) 6 | 4 (106.97) Callan Rydz

Martin Schindler (96.84) 5 | 6 (103.81) Danny Noppert

Mensur Suljovic (90.05) 5 | 6 (90.19) James Wade

Darius Labanauskas (96.19) 6 | 5 (99.43) Dirk van Duijvenbode

Simon Whitlock (103.47) 2 | 6 (107.77) Krzysztof Ratajski

Jonny Clayton (106.34) 6 | 1 (94.16) Stephen Bunting


Matthew Edgar (88.15) 3 | 6 (98.54) Michael van Gerwen

Joe Cullen (104.87) 6 | 3 (108.47) Danny Noppert

James Wade (90.84) 4 | 6 (95.68) Darius Labanauskas

Krzysztof Ratajski (98.96) 6 | 5 (101.56) Jonny Clayton


Michael van Gerwen (104.22) 4 | 7 (111.28) Joe Cullen

Darius Labanauskas (92.75) 3 | 7 (100.47) Krzysztof Ratajski


Joe Cullen (88.01) 7 | 8 (96.04) Krzysztof Ratajski

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments