(VIDEO) Ricky Evans caught up in illegal throw row as sarcastic retort aimed at referee during PDC World Darts Championship epic

PDC
Monday, 22 December 2025 at 19:26
Ricky Evans (3)
Ricky Evans had drama to boot alongside the match against James Wade as he managed to get embroiled in an illegal throw row during the PDC World Darts Championship with referee Charlie Corstorphine.
In leg five of the final set at Ally Pally, he was on a score of 20 but missed the double and then the double five. This left him with five and he threw for the single five trying to bust his score but he did not throw his last dart correctly launching it sideways out of frustration.
The referee announced immediately to him and the crowd. “That last dart doesn’t count – underarm throw.” This annoyed the Kettering ace who disagreed with the call and showed it next throw as he pinned the double and then he gave a sarcastic thumbs up towards the referee. 
"Not at the time. If someone nods and says I was wrong, fair enough — I was wrong. But it worked," said Evans during his post match interview.
At the time I thought it was a throwing motion. It was heat of the moment. If I’d lost that leg or the match because of it, I wouldn’t have taken it out on him.
claps 1visitors 1
loading

Just in

Popular news

Latest comments

Loading