Wright wins final Players Championship event of the season with commanding victory over Ratajski

Peter Wright has claimed the final Players Championship event of the season winning his third in Barnsley defeating Krzysztof Ratajski once again.

Wright inflicted the World Record average on 'The Polish Eagle' yesterday in a 6-0 win and this time around it was 8-1. He went 5-0 up and didn't seem like going backwards at all romping to the win.

'Snakebite' averaged 101 and and even when Ratajski had a dart at double which was few and far between and missed he was punished straight away by Wright who didn't want to get embroiled in a battle with the in-form Polish ace.

Despite the margin of defeat for Ratajski who can't seem to find the rub of the green against Wright in his PDC career, it was a befitting end to the Players Championship series with both players two of the main protagonists in the Roll of Honour.

For Wright next up is the Champions League of Darts and after a brilliant double header to start the week, he will go to Leicester full of confidence to take on the other top eight players in the world.

Click here for more information about the Pro Tour, including the prize money breakdown.

Players Championship 30
Peter Wright 8 | 1 Krzysztof Ratajski

Peter Wright 7 | 2 Danny Noppert
Krzysztof Ratajski 7 | 5 Gerwyn Price

Danny Noppert 6 | 2 Andy Jenkins
Peter Wright 6 | 2 Arron Monk
Gerwyn Price 6 | 4 Jonny Clayton
Krzysztof Ratajski 6 | 5 Jermaine Wattimena

Last 16
Andy Jenkins 6 | 2 Max Hopp
Danny Noppert 6 | 4 Simon Whitlock
Peter Wright 6 | 5 Mark McGeeney
Arron Monk 6 | 4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Gerwyn Price 6 | 3 Chris Dobey
Jonny Clayton 6 | 4 Darren Webster
Jermaine Wattimena 6 | 1 Cody Harris
Krzysztof Ratajski 6 | 4 Michael Smith



Most read

Full ITV 4 TV Guide for the 2020 World Series of Darts Finals

The live darting action continues this weekend with the World Series of Darts Finals taking place at the Salzburgarena in Aus...

Ashton claims massive scalp with opening round win over Smith in early results on Day One of PDC Autumn Series

Already there has been a big result in the PDC Autumn Series with Lisa Ashton sending Michael Smith home early on Day One wit...

PDC Autumn Series Order of Merit after Day Five

The PDC Autumn Series will be played from September 12-16. The results will count towards the PDC Autumn Series Order of Meri...

Timeline: How the BDO slowly bled to death after 47 years

What had been in the air for quite some time after a financial problems, messing around with tournament draws and a bad comme...

Van Gerwen dumped out in second round of PDC Autumn Series Day Two by Heta

Michael van Gerwen is out in the second round of the PDC Autumn Series after Damon Heta claimed a big scalp on Day Two.Van Ge...

Van der Voort complains about dartboard at World Series of Darts Finals: 'I bet to any money in the world something is different'

Vincent van der Voort booked a 6-0 whitewash victory over Joe Cullen to secure a place in the second round at the World Serie...

Results Day One - PDC Autumn Series: Wright sees off Razma in rout to win title (Live Blog)

The 14th Players Championship event of the season will be played during the first day of the PDC Autumn Series. All results c...

Draw released for World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier: Clayton set to face Ashton, Beaton against Van Duijvenbode

The draw has been released for the World Series of Darts Finals Qualifier which begins six days of action in Niedernhausen wi...

Lewis decides to "step away" from darts temporarily after PDC Autumn Series withdrawals

Jamie Lewis has decided to step away from darts temporarily after he withdrew from the last few days of the PDC Autumn Series...

Van Gerwen makes a return to old darts for PDC Autumn Series

Michael van Gerwen has decided to go back to his old darts, which he used before switching to darts manufacturer Winmau.The w...

Read more

Just in

Huybrechts, Harris and Kurz among last qualifiers for German Darts Championship

Ronny Huybrechts, Cody Harris and Nico Kurz are among the last six players who qualified for the German Darts Championship, a...

Ratajski claims PDC Home Tour II Group Ten, joined by Huybrechts and Bunting

Krzysztof Ratajski has come through the final group of the opening phase of PDC Home Tour II alongside Kim Huybrechts and Ste...

Draw & Schedule for the 2020 German Darts Championship confirmed

The draw and schedule of play has been confirmed ahead of the 2020 German Darts Championship which is set to mark the return...

Nieuwlaat has doubts about Barney's comeback: 'He must first try to claim a Tour Card, that will be a big task'

The news came out on Wednesday that Raymond van Barneveld will make a comeback. RTL commentator Jacques Nieuwlaat has his dou...

Prize money breakdown for the 2020 German Darts Championship with £140,000 on offer

The German Darts Championship takes place this weekend as the PDC European Tour continues after being interrupted due to the...

Read more