The 15th edition of the Premier League Darts will be bigger and better than ever.

Nine players make up the Premier League’s permanent roster. Thanks to the withdrawal of Gary Anderson due to back issues, the PDC have introduced another nine players to the fold. See the tournament centre below for all the details ahead of the three-month-long event.

Draw and Schedule

Originally ten players were chosen to compete in the Premier League. Michael van Gerwen, Rob Cross, Peter Wright and Gary Anderson automatically qualified through the Order of Merit. The PDC chose Daryl Gurney, James Wade, Gerwyn Price and Michael Smith as their wildcards. Sky selected Raymond van Barneveld and Mensur Suljovic.
But with Anderson gone, the PDC has replaced him not with one, but nine players. Chris Dobey, Glen Durrant, Steve Lennon, Luke Humphries, John Henderson, Nathan Aspinall, Max Hopp, Dimitri van den Bergh and Jeffrey de Zwaan will all play in one match each.
There are nine nights of action, culminating in ‘Judgement Night’ in Rotterdam on March 28, after which one player will be relegated. The remaining eight will play in seven more fixtures, before the top four progress to the play-offs at London’s O2 Arena.
This article explains which of the Premier League players each ‘contender’ will play.
Click here for the full Premier League fixture list, up until Judgement Night.

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC

TV Coverage

As it has from the very start, Sky Sports will be showing the Premier League every Thursday until the play-offs. Outside of the UK, there are different ways of viewing the weekly action. Click here to see the available coverage where you are.

Prize fund

The prize fund for the Premier League is bigger than ever. The size of that fund is yet to be determined. A planned £855,000 total pot was scrapped after Gary Anderson’s withdrawal. Now it depends on how many of the nine ‘contenders’ win £5,000 for winning their game.
Click here to check out the 2019 Premier League Darts prize fund in full.


The group stage games are all best of 12 legs, meaning that there can be draws. In the play-offs, semi-final games are best of 19 legs, with the final played over a maximum of 21 legs. Points are earned from all games, even against the ‘contenders’ – though the contenders themselves cannot accumulate points. Two points are earned for a group stage win, with the points shared for a draw. Should two players finish level on points, leg difference is the tie-breaker. Legs won against throw and then tournament average could also be used to separate players if necessary.

Roll of Honour

2005-08 Phil Taylor
2009 James Wade
2010 Phil Taylor
2011 Gary Anderson
2012 Phil Taylor
2013 Michael van Gerwen
2014 Raymond van Barneveld
2015 Gary Anderson
2016-18 Michael van Gerwen

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Author: Ed McCosh