Ross Smith and Peter Wright were the last two players to reach the third round of the European Darts Open in Leverkusen, as the line-up for the last 16 is now confirmed.

Wright booked a fine 6-2 victory against Kim Huybrechts. The Scotsman moved into a 4-2 lead, before Wright hit a 14-dat leg and a stunning 121 finish to seal the victory against the Belgian.
Smith beat the odds as he overcame Simon Whitlock after a leg-decider. ‘The Wizard’ had the throw in the last leg, but missed a match-dart on double 16. Smith was waiting on double 12 and hit the double with his first dart to move into the final day of action in Leverkusen.
Click here to check out the PDC European Tour 2019 tournament centre.

European Darts Open – Second Round
Afternoon session

Darren Webster (87.43) 6-3 (81.08) Pavel Jirkal
James Wade (97.87) 6-3 (92.49) Wesley Plaisier
Ian White (87.83) 5-6 (89.44) Justin Pipe
Gerwyn Price (97.39) 6-3 (86.63) Scott Taylor
Dave Chisnall (100.28) 6-2 (90.74) Ted Evetts
Jonny Clayton (85.01) 6-3 (86.54) Adam Hunt
Michael Smith (98.77) 5-6 (105.57) Krzysztof Ratajski
Daryl Gurney (90.98) 6-2 (90.21) Jeffrey de Zwaan

Evening session

Adrian Lewis (102.54) 3-6 (102.29) Dimitri van den Bergh
Jermaine Wattimena (102.16) 6-5 (97.79) Glen Durrant
Joe Cullen (97.20) 6-1 (91.55) Vincent van der Voort
Michael van Gerwen (97.68) 6-1 (82.06) Mervyn King
Rob Cross (101.37) 6-3 (95.83) Steve Beaton
Mensur Suljovic (99.65) 6-4 (91.73) Matthew Dennant
Simon Whitlock (93.74) 5-6 (92.69) Ross Smith
Peter Wright (101.33) 6-2 (86.56) Kim Huybrechts

Last 16

Michael van Gerwen v Jermaine Wattimena
Krzysztof Ratajski v Gerwyn Price
Mensur Suljovic v Joe Cullen
James Wade v Dave Chisnall
Justin Pipe v Darren Webster
Rob Cross v Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright v Ross Smith

Tags: ,

Author: Pieter