The schedule of play has been released for the World Grand Prix which takes place from October 6-October 12 at the CityWest in Dublin and sees the only tournament where the double in, double out format is utilised.

First night sees defending champion Michael van Gerwen and Gary Anderson headline proceedings in a bumper night of action. Mighty Mike will take on debutant and Czech Darts Open champion Jamie Hughes. Anderson is set to take on Keegan Brown.

James Wade and Michael Smith are the other main players involved on opening night with ties against John Henderson and Simon Whitlock respectively.

Monday’s session is also full of quality with such ties as Rob Cross and Mensur Suljovic the main tie. Peter Wright and Max Hopp though headline the evening’s proceedings.

Daryl Gurney, Gerwyn Price are also in action; with Glen Durrant also taking on recent first time European Tour winner Krzysztof Ratajski in another potentially tie of the round.

From there it follows the draw bracket up until the final. The Tom Kirby Irish Matchplay final between Keane Barry and Liam Gallagher has been confirmed to take place before the World Grand Prix final.

Schedule of Play
Sunday October 6 (1900)

First Round x8
Ricky Evans v Chris Dobey
Mervyn King v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Joe Cullen v Ian White
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Steve Beaton
James Wade v John Henderson
Michael Smith v Simon Whitlock
Michael van Gerwen v Jamie Hughes
Gary Anderson v Keegan Brown

Monday October 7 (1900)
First Round x8
Stephen Bunting v Jonny Clayton
Vincent van der Voort v Nathan Aspinall
Adrian Lewis v Jermaine Wattimena
Glen Durrant v Krzysztof Ratajski
Daryl Gurney v Danny Noppert
Gerwyn Price v Dave Chisnall
Rob Cross v Mensur Suljovic
Peter Wright v Max Hopp

Tuesday October 8 (1900)
Second Round x4
Wade/Henderson v King/Van den Bergh
Smith/Whitlock v Cullen/White
Van Gerwen/Hughes v De Zwaan/Beaton
Anderson/Brown v Evans/Dobey

Wednesday October 9 (1900)
Second Round x4
Gurney/Noppert v Van der Voort/Aspinall
Price/Chisnall v Bunting/Clayton
Cross/Suljovic v Durrant/Ratajski
Wright/Hopp v Lewis/Wattimena

Thursday October 10 (1900)

Friday October 11 (1900)

Saturday October 12 (2000)
Preceded by Tom Kirby Memorial Irish Matchplay Final (1900)
Liam Gallagher v Keane Barry
Best of 11 legs

Lawrence Lustig/PDC

Photo: Lawrence Lustig/PDC


Author: Samuel Gill