During the Coronavirus pandemic, it is no longer possible for darts to take place for a while with both Premier League Darts and Pro Tour tournaments postponed over the past few days.

Without the current Premier League action every Thursday, Darts News takes a look back at special moments in darting history with this time all the nine-dart finishes in the history of the weekly roadshow.

Raymond van Barneveld was first to claim the accolade back in 2006 and he did this again four years later. Phil Taylor was one of the main players for a perfect leg like Michael van Gerwen is now and he became the first and only player at the moment to throw two nine-darters in a television game. He did this at the right time as well in the final against James Wade winning 10-8 with those two legs proving pivotal.

He produced another perfect salvo in 2012 against Kevin Painter. Adrian Lewis has also hit a couple in 2016 and 2017 but with two years without it, Michael Smith was the latest addition to the Premier League nine-dart club this time around hitting one only a few weeks ago before the action was stopped.


Author: Samuel Gill