James Wade has won the 24th Players Championship event on Wednesday evening. It means a fifth title of the PDC season for the Aldershot ace.

The left-hander defeated Dave Chisnall 8-6 in the final of the Pro Tour event in Barnsley. Wade laid the foundation for his victory in the first four legs, as he won all of them.

Wade kept four-leg margin as he moved 6-2 and 7-3 up, before Chisnall hit back with three legs on the spin to reduce the deficit to 7-6. However it was the multiple major winner who claimed the title in the 14th leg with a three-dart 82 checkout in his own leg.

The world number eight kicked off the tournament earlier with victories over Marko Kantele, Jonathan Worsley and James Richardson to reach the last sixteen. Wade went on to beat Raymond van Barneveld 6-3, before coming through a leg-decider against Jermaine Wattimena in the quarter-finals. Scott Taylor became his last hurdle on his way to the final and he defeated the Bolton ace 7-4.

Click here for more information about the Pro Tour, including the prize fund breakdown.

Players Championship 24
Last 16

Scott Taylor 6 | 5 Devon Petersen
Justin Pipe 6 | 4 Kyle Anderson
Jermaine Wattimena 6 | 4 Peter Wright
James Wade 6 | 3 Raymond van Barneveld
Jamie Hughes 6 | 5 Gerwyn Price
James Wilson 6 | 3 Glen Durrant
John Henderson 6 | 5 Ron Meulenkamp
Dave Chisnall 6 | 4 Benito van de Pas


Scott Taylor 6 | 4 Justin Pipe
James Wade 6 | 5 Jermaine Wattimena
Jamie Hughes 6 | 3 James Wilson
Dave Chisnall 6 | 3 John Henderson


James Wade 7 | 4 Scott Taylor
Dave Chisnall 7 | 6 Jamie Hughes


James Wade 8 | 5 Dave Chisnall

Tags: ,

Author: Pieter Verbeek