The draw for the 2020 BDO World Darts Championship has been made. It promises to be a special edition, because for the first time since 1985 the event is not being played at the Lakeside. The O2 Arena in London will be the host during the upcoming edition.

BDO number one Wesley Harms will face either Andreas Harrysson or World Masters champion John O’Shea in the first round. BDO World Trophy winner Jim Williams clashes with Gary Stone, while Scott Mitchell faces 13-year-old Leighton Bennett. Martin Adams makes his return at the BDO World Darts Championship and will play against Scott Waites.

Defending champion Mikuru Suzuki will meet Maria O’Brien in the first round of the ladies event. Lisa Ashton has drawn Paula Jacklin, while Anastasia Dobromyslova plays Sharon Prins. The 15-year-old debutant Beau Greaves faces Trina Gulliver.

Evert Zomer

Photo: Evert Zomer


Preliminary Round

Justin Thompson v Scott Williams
Andreas Harrysson v John O’Shea
Paul Hogan v Brian Raman
David Cameron v Nick Fullwell
Gabriel Pascaru v Justin Hood
Darren Herewini v Simon Stainton
Joe Chaney v Ben Hazel
Thibault Tricole v Ross Montgomery

First Round

Wesley Harms (1) v A. Harrysson/J. O’Shea
Scott Waites (16) v Martin Adams
Willem Mandigers (8) v Michael Unterbuchner
Scott Mitchell (9) v Leighton Bennett
Wayne Warren (5) v J. Thompson/S. Williams
Andy Hamilton (12) v D. Herewini/S. Stainton
Dave Parletti (4) v Chris Landman
Gary Robson (13) v J. Chaney/B. Hazel
Jim Williams (2) v Gary Stone
Ryan Hogarth (15) v T. Tricole/R. Montgomery
Martijn Kleermaker (7) v Gino Vos
Adam Smith-Neale (10) v P. Hogan/B. Raman
Nick Kenny (6) v Dennie Olde Kalter
Mario Vandenbogaerde (11) v Sebastian Steyer
Richard Veenstra (3) v Pascaru/Hood
David Evans (14) v Cameron/Fullwell


First Round

Lisa Ashton (1) v Paula Jacklin
Lorraine Winstanley (8) v Casey Gallagher
Fallon Sherrock (4) v Corrine Hammond
Deta Hedman (5) v Laura Turner
Mikuru Suzuki (2) v Maria O’Brien
Anastasia Dobromyslova (7) v Sharon Prins
Aileen de Graaf (3) v Kirsty Hutchinson
Beau Greaves (6) v Trina Gulliver


Author: Pieter