The World Series of Darts Finals 2019 line-up will be close to being confirmed after the triple header of action in Australia and New Zealand is complete with the tournament being held in Amsterdam for the first time.

The best players from the World Series Order of Merit, other players from the general Order of Merit, some invited players and a few winners from a qualification event will take part. The field comprises of 24 players.

Qualification criteria

Firstly, the top eight players in the World Series of Darts Order of Merit will receive invites. Those involved receive points based on finishing positions in the five tournaments. For example 12 points are on offer for winning an event; one point for participating in a World Series event. As a result players have a good chance of being involved in the season ending event. Even if they don’t play well but are still invited to multiple tournaments.

There is another option for those who miss out, but are in the higher echelons of the PDC Order of Merit. The four highest players in the Order of Merit – not yet qualified through the World Series – will also receive an invitation. This means that Michael van Gerwen and Rob Cross have secured their spot for the World Series of Darts Finals.

Also, four to eight wildcards are given out. With the tournament being held in Amsterdam, this could see players such as Jeffrey de Zwaan given a route in; as well as players who are seen as in form or in a lot of cases as prospects for the future.

The remaining four to eight places depending on wildcards are filled through the qualifying tournament with all players with a PDC Tour Card allowed to participate with it being played on October 16 in Barnsley.

Wade looks to defend title

James Wade will look to defend his title when it comes to the end of the year; ‘The Machine’ saw off Michael Smith last year in a thrilling 11-10 win.

It was the first time that Michael van Gerwen failed to win the World Series of Darts Finals with ‘Mighty Mike’ winning the title three years in a row from 2015 till 2017.

Michael Braunschadel/PDC

Photo: Michael Braunschadel/PDC

Author: Samuel Gill