Mervyn King has dumped out the pre-tournament favourite and World Number One Michael van Gerwen in a classy display from the Bradwell ace.

Van Gerwen once again has had a poor time in Minehead with the previous two years him going out at this stage and the year before he did not play.

He ended up coming back into the match at 5-7 behind but a strong last few legs from King gave him the well-deserved victory. Players will now sense the chance that has opened up especially the likes of Gary Anderson who will look to defend his title now he has taken over as favourite.

Also through and among that reckoning are the likes of Rob Cross and James Wade who are through to the next round.

Cross eased past Darren Webster in a 10-4 victory with a 99 average against ‘The Demolition Man’ in what could have been a real tough test. Wade continued his great form moving through with ease in a 10-1 win and a 100 average against James Wilson.

From the other boards, the likes of Martin Schindler, Krzysztof Ratajski and Nathan Aspinall as the fourth round continues.

Click here for more information about the UK Open including the schedule, prize fund breakdown, TV coverage and format.

Fourth Round
Friday March 1 – 1900 GMT Start

Main Stage
Joe Cullen (94.8) 6-10 (96.2) Gerwyn Price
Michael van Gerwen (96.7) 6-10 (96.0) Mervyn King
Steve Beaton v Gary Anderson
Mensur Suljovic v Peter Wright

Stage Two
Dave Chisnall (98.4) 10-8 (96.5) Luke Humphries
Rob Cross (99.1) 10-4 (96.1) Darren Webster
Raymond van Barneveld v Simon Stevenson
Adrian Lewis v Jamie Lewis

Stage Three
Jelle Klaasen (83.8) 4-10 (86.8) Madars Razma
James Wilson (84.3) 1-10 (100.5) James Wade
Stephen Bunting v Steve Lennon
Geert Nentjes v Max Hopp

Stage Four
Peter Hudson (90.5) 3-10 (94.1) Kim Huybrechts
Martin Schindler (84.5) 10-7 (87.5) Adam Hunt
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Jermaine Wattimena
Benito van de Pas v Gabriel Clemens

Stage Five
Luke Woodhouse (96.1) 10-7 (96.5) Gavin Carlin
Joe Murnan (93.2) 4-10 (99.4) Krzysztof Ratajski
Ricky Evans v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Jan Dekker v Simon Whitlock

Stage Six
William O’Connor (89.0) 4-10 (95.1) Keegan Brown
Nathan Aspinall (93.7) 10-9 (94.6) Christian Kist
Jamie Hughes v Ian White
Daryl Gurney v Reece Robinson

Stage Seven
John Henderson (88.3) 5-10 (95.9) Michael Smith
Josh Payne (97.0) 10-2 (91.3) Kyle Anderson
Jonny Clayton v Arron Monk
Mickey Mansell v Scott Taylor

Stage Eight
Cristo Reyes (86.3) 10-2 (86.3) Ryan Joyce
Alan Norris (79.7) 5-10 (86.2) Ross Smith
Brendan Dolan v Richard North
Ryan Searle v Steve West

Tags: | | |

Author: Samuel Gill