Anderson produces comeback to defeat Brown, Zonneveld dumps out Wade

The action continues on the opening day at the Players Championship Finals with Gary Anderson battling through the pain barrier to see off Keegan Brown.

Anderson faced off against 'The Needle' and came from 4-1 down to reel off five consecutive legs to claim a 6-4 victory and move through to the second round as he continues to produce despite not being at his best.

James Wade reached the final at the Grand Slam of Darts but he couldn't replicate that kind of form against Niels Zonneveld with the Dutchman dumping out 'The Machine'.

Zonneveld who has shown good form at times this year took out 122 on the bull to claim a 6-3 victory in the end.

While over on Stage Two, Ross Smith breezed past 'The Hurricane' Kim Huybrechts in a 6-1 win averaging 96.3 with 55% on the doubles and a high checkout of 125 as 'Smudger' continued his good form.

As did Damon Heta who saw off Maik Kuivenhoven in a 6-1 victory with a 97.5 average and 66% on the doubles.

But for Jermaine Wattimena, he produced one of the displays of the tournament so far in defeating Steve Lennon in a 6-1 win with a 103.5 average with 60% on the doubles and a high checkout of 140.

Lennon despite the margin of defeat averaged 102 during the tie as he fell to the impressive Dutchman.

Schedule 2020 Players Championship Finals

Friday November 27

First Round

Evening Session (1900 GMT)

Main Stage

Nathan Aspinall (92.15) 6-5 (91.82) Scott Waites

Gary Anderson (89.87) 6-4 (90.59) Keegan Brown

James Wade (93.43) 3-6 (94.41) Niels Zonneveld

Peter Wright v Ryan Meikle

Michael van Gerwen v Darius Labanauskas

Gerwyn Price v John Henderson

Jose De Sousa v Mike De Decker

Stage Two

Vincent van der Voort (88.73) 6-2 (87.12) Derk Telnekes

Ricky Evans (87.15) 2-6 (98.9)Jamie Hughes

Ross Smith (96.29) 6-1 (93.15) Kim Huybrechts

Damon Heta (97.53) 6-1 (83.01) Maik Kuivenhoven

Jermaine Wattimena (103.53) 6-1 (102.16) Steve Lennon

Madars Razma v Chris Dobey

Glen Durrant v Wayne Jones

Darren Webster v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Danny Noppert v Steve Beaton

Place comments