Joyce produces comeback to claim maiden ranking title on second day of PDC Summer Series |

Joyce produces comeback to claim maiden ranking title on second day of PDC Summer Series

Ryan Joyce is the latest winner on the PDC Summer Series winning Players Championship 10 and a first PDC ranking title after edging past Dave Chisnall in a deciding leg.

Joyce had to battle back though from 7-3 down in order to claim an 8-7 win pouncing on Chisnall missing five match darts and capitulating towards the end.

'Relentless' though has been just that today though defeating Gary Anderson (7-3), Glen Durrant (6-5), Madars Razma (6-5), Chris Dobey (6-4), Luke Humphries (6-3) and Andy Hamilton (6-4).

In what was a tough day for the Newcastle ace but he has converted a first final appearance into a title joining Michael van Gerwen in the winner's circle this week. A World Matchplay appearance also beckons now for Joyce.

To begin, A 137 setup shot left 82 but Joyce couldn't convert and Chisnall took an early break with a 78 checkout. An 84 checkout followed for Chisnall to hold to take the early initiative.

Joyce held his throw to follow but without a break, Chisnall kept him at arms length at 3-1 up. The former kept in touch at 3-2 behind but Chisnall hit a 180 and double 16 to go two clear once more.

Another break followed as he punished two missed doubles from Joyce to go 5-2 up which was the turning point as despite 'Relentless' stopping the rot at 6-3 down, 'Chizzy' surged to a 7-3 lead to go one away from victory.

A 72 checkout from Joyce kept him in proceedings but his time was potentially numbered as he had the throw in the subsequent leg. He left 132 with Chisnall back on 200 losing his range at the wrong time.

He was on 48 with Chisnall back at 156 but after the latter drifted into one, a break was achieved by Joyce. The Newcastle ace was soon one behind leaving 40 from 132.

Chisnall was first to a finish on 111 and with Joyce on 80, he had to go for it but he missed double 16. So did Joyce though and Chisnall had more darts for the title but they went array as well.

Double 20 beckoned and Joyce sent it to sudden death with the throw. Chisnall had a better start and took the throw with two 180's.

Joyce though came in with an excellent response hitting a 180 but 135 left Chisnall on 86 after nine darts. A brilliant 138 setup saw Joyce ask the question.

But Chisnall missed bull for an 86 checkout, Joyce had three at double 20 and he pinned double 10 to win his first PDC ranking title.

Click here for more information about the PDC Summer Series, including the prize money breakdown.

Players Championship 10
Last 16

Ryan Joyce (97.2) 6 | 5 (93.6) Madars Razma
Glen Durrant (107.1) 6 | 1 (88.4) Niels Zonneveld
Gary Anderson (100.1) 6 | 1 (90.8) Gabriel Clemens
Jonny Clayton (98.9) 6 | 2 (92.2) Martin Atkins (Wigan)
Peter Wright (102.3) 6 | 2 (94.8) Jermaine Wattimena
Nathan Aspinall (99.4) 6 | 3 (86.2) James Wade
Martijn Kleermaker (91.9) 6 | 3 (90.5) Jason Lowe
Dave Chisnall (97.6) 6 | 4 (92.6) Maik Kuivenhoven


Ryan Joyce (92.2) 6| 5 (94.1) Glen Durrant
Gary Anderson (95.3) 6 | 4 (89.1) Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright (95.5) 2 | 6 (95.2) Nathan Aspinall
Martijn Kleermaker (89.5) 2 | 6 (102.1) Dave Chisnall


Ryan Joyce (101.9) 7 | 3 (98.6) Gary Anderson
Nathan Aspinall (92.6) 5 | 7 (96.4) Dave Chisnall


Ryan Joyce (100.2) 8 | 7 (94.7) Dave Chisnall


Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments