PDC announces qualification criteria for 2022 Grand Slam of Darts

The PDC has announced the qualifying criteria for this year's Grand Slam of Darts which will take place in Aldersley again between November 12-20.

Just like in 2021, there are no additional spots for amateur players which means no Neil Duff or Beau Greaves who won the WDF editions and also no mooted World Seniors champions.

The first sixteen spots go to winners and losing finalists of TV tournaments in the past twelve months. Defending champion Gerwyn Price, World Champion Peter Wright, Premier League Champion Michael van Gerwen , Masters winner Joe Cullen, UK Open champion Danny Noppert and World Cup winners Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta are sure of their place.

In addition, runners-ups Michael Smith, Dave Chisnall, Ryan Searle and Jonny Clayton will also be present in Wolverhampton. Until the Grand Slam, four more television tournaments are played, with room for six players via this route. If these four tournaments (World Matchplay, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Series of Darts Finals) do not yield or not enough new finalists, then winners of Euro Tour tournaments and Players Championships will be considered.

Luke Humphries, Dirk van Duijvenbode, Nathan Aspinall and Jim WIlliams are currently among those to occupy those spots.

The next eight spots will be made available during a qualifying tournament for PDC Tour Card holders on Sunday, November 6.

Then there are eight spots left. These are given to various secondary tour/other title winners including World Youth Championship finalists in Ted Evetts and Nathan Rafferty. Leonard Gates will receive an invitation as the winner of the North American Championship which is a new addition. While the winner of the PDC Asian Championship can also expect an invitation.

The remaining places go to the winners of the Challenge Tour, Development Tour and Women's Series. The winner of the Women's World Matchplay will also receive an invitation.

Grand Slam of Darts 2022 Qualifying Criteria

Qualifying Players (invited in the following order)

2021/22 PDC World Champion – PETER WRIGHT

2021 Grand Slam Champion – GERWYN PRICE

2022 Premier League Champion – MICHAEL VAN GERWEN

2022 World Matchplay Champion

2022 World Grand Prix Champion

2022 Masters Champion – JOE CULLEN

2022 UK Open Champion – DANNY NOPPERT

2022 European Champion

2021 Players Championship Finals Champion (Peter Wright)

2022 World Series of Darts Finals Champion

2022 World Cup Champions x2 – DAMON HETA & SIMON WHITLOCK

2021/22 PDC World Championship runner-up – MICHAEL SMITH

2021 Grand Slam runner-up (Peter Wright)

2022 Premier League runner-up (Joe Cullen)

2022 World Matchplay runner-up

2022 World Grand Prix runner-up

2022 Masters runner-up – DAVE CHISNALL

2022 UK Open runner-up (Michael Smith)

2022 European Championship runner-up

2021 Players Championship Finals runner-up – RYAN SEARLE

2022 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up

2022 World Cup runners-up x2 – (Gerwyn Price) & JONNY CLAYTON

2022 European Tour Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order. Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

LUKE HUMPHRIES (x3), (Michael van Gerwen x3), (Gerwyn Price), (Michael Smith)

2022 Players Championship Event Winners

In order of number of event wins and then PDC Ranking Order. Currently (provisional qualifiers listed in capitals):

(Michael Smith x3), (Michael van Gerwen x2), (Joe Cullen x2), (Peter Wright), (Gerwyn Price), (Damon Heta), (Luke Humphries), DIRK VAN DUIJVENBODE, RYAN SEARLE, NATHAN ASPINALL, JIM WILLIAMS, Scott Williams, Danny Jansen

PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier (Sunday November 6)

Eight Players (TBC)

Additional Qualifiers

2021 World Youth Champion – TED EVETTS

2021 World Youth Championship runner-up – NATHAN RAFFERTY

2022 Challenge Tour Order of Merit Winner

2022 Development Tour Order of Merit Winner

2022 Women’s World Matchplay Winner

2022 Women’s Series Order of Merit Winner

2022 PDC Asian Championship Winner

2022 North American Championship Winner – LEONARD GATES

Read more about:
PDC Grand Slam of Darts

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments